Harper Lee from A to Z: L is for LEAVE IT!

L thek9harperlee

Of all the obedience commands, I think “Leave it!” is my absolute favorite. I am super good at “Leave it!” Perhaps that’s because I hear “Leave it!” so often. When I go for walks, I just love to stop and smell things. My humans are not as interested in stopping and smelling things, so I hear “Leave it!” and we keep moving. When my humans put food on the coffee table, I sometimes get a bit of a wandering eye . . . not to mention nose and mouth. Once again, those two little words–“Leave it!”–put an end to any chance of a little taste that IΒ might have had. But the best time of all to hear “Leave it!” is during obedience training and class . . . because “Leave it!” is always followed by these two beautiful words: “Take it!”

This post is part of the Blogging from A to Z April Challenge. See you tomorrow!

Click the link below to connect with other pet bloggers who are doing the A to Z Challenge.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

39 Comments on “Harper Lee from A to Z: L is for LEAVE IT!”

  1. What a strong will you have sweetie!

  2. Look at you! What a great dog you are.

  3. Kristin says:

    Good morning Ms. Harper Lee!! Have a great Monday!! πŸ™‚

  4. Rosy Rue says:

    I am impressed !! You are such a good girl ! When Mommy asks us to do or not something she is a bit lazy with her words,, there is “No!” and there is “OK !” RosyPoodleKisses!

  5. You are so good Miss Lee!

  6. dorysbackyard says:

    We love it too Harper…well, as long as we don’t look at the treats we have to leave. You are doing a great job!!
    Smileys!
    Dory, Jakey, Arty & Bilbo

  7. Bernie Mac says:

    What a lovely ‘L’. I like to think I’m pretty good at ‘Leave it’…. Hmm maybe not lol
    berniethefrenchie

  8. Marcie says:

    Wow, such a great ‘leave it’ with all those treats right there!

  9. Oh those eyes look so full of love, it melts my heart.

  10. That is good LeaveIt work, Miss HL. I don’t think I could’ve lasted with all those treats right in front of me. But I do pretty well with LeaveIt, most of the time.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  11. Rebecca says:

    What a great leave it!! And love how you incorporated A to Z in the spelling!

  12. Great post for L – leave it is probably Jack’s least favorite command and he’s only so-so at it, but it sure is an important one.

    • At obedience school, our trainer said to pretend that the “Leave it!” treat was something really, really dangerous and eating it would result in an emergency trip to the vet. That got the humans’ attention, which in turn got the attention of every single dog!

  13. Our hoomans say leave it sometimes but whee know they mean grab it and run and hide it behind the sofa really!

    Nacho, Noah, Buddy & Basil
    xxxx

  14. lol that was great! You are such a good girl.

  15. Rebekah says:

    Love that picture! It’s perfect!

  16. O…M…D! Miss HL you must have super powers being able to resist those treats like that!
    Wally & Sammy

  17. Such great practice!!! Our leave it is a “wait” (and it’s for anything that involves freezing in place and stopping… from food to sidewalks to random whatevers!), and then “free” means just that – go ahead and do it. Leave its (or waits, etc) are probably the most important training πŸ™‚ Yours is a fantastic “L”!

    • Thank you so much. Our trainer taught us that “Leave it!” and “Come” were the two most important commands to learn. They’ve both come in very handy . . . although when I’m in my own back yard I tend to totally ignore “Come.” πŸ˜‰

  18. 2browndawgs says:

    Brown dawgs hear leave it a lot too. πŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

