Harper Lee from A to Z: V is for VACATION

V1 thek9harperlee

Even Golden Retrievers need a little vacation every once in a while. My humans like the kind of big vacations that involve airplanes and ships, while I prefer not to fly or sail. I enjoy loading my chariot–actually, I enjoy watching my humans load my chariot–and then hitting the road for a little close-to-home R&R. Last weekend, we took a short drive north to one of my very favorite mini-vacation spots: Butler Greenwood Plantation and Bed and Breakfast in St. Francisville, Louisiana.

V6 thek9harperlee

This was my fourth visit to Butler Greenwood, and I love it more and more every time I go. This bed and breakfast is what vacation is all about: really getting away from it all. On their last big trip, while they were somewhere in the middle of the ocean doing absolutely nothing, my humans started to feel a little guilty. Were they being a little too lazy? And that’s when a very wise lady explained the difference between travel and vacation. Travel involves visiting new places, seeing new sites, experiencing new cultures. Vacation involves resting and relaxing . . . nothing more . . . that’s it. I like vacation.

V3 thek9harperlee

After we had settled into our little cottage vacation home and explored the beautiful B&B grounds, my humans really started to relax . . .

V4 thek9harperlee

. . . while I sat on the back deck and stared down at the lovely ravine below. And that’s pretty much how we spent the next two days of our mini-vacation . . .

V2 thek9harperlee

. . . my humans lounging and gazing lazily through the treetops . . .

V5 thek9harperlee

. . . and me resting my head and staring off into the distance. It was everything a vacation should be.

This post is part of the Blogging from A to Z April Challenge. See you tomorrow!

Click the link below to connect with other pet bloggers who are doing the A to Z Challenge.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

28 Comments on “Harper Lee from A to Z: V is for VACATION”

  1. I remember the first time we took Tiamo on a mini-vacation. She was 5 months old and we were given the worst rooms in the block. It was hoot!

    • You were very brave to take a five-month-old puppy on vacation . . . even a mini-vacation! My humans waited until I was almost two, but I’ve been making up for lost time every since!

  2. Ruby says:

    This vacation looks wonderful and relaxing. It really is everything you need in a vacation. Glad you got to enjoy it with your humans!

  3. What an incredibly gorgeous place for some much needed R&R! My Mom wants to go! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  4. I agree wiff you. I don’t like it when Mom goes on vacation wiffout me and flies away. I love to take chariot vacations.
    Wags,
    Ranger

  5. noahzbark says:

    What a lovely location for a vacation. Mom & Dad chose well for all of you to enjoy the scenery & just “be”. It looks cozy too!

  6. Restful. Peaceful. Perfect.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  7. Emmadog says:

    Looks nice. We are resting up for our road trip to Vegas…it will be tiring but fun!

  8. What a lovely place a great spot for a VACATION!

  9. Kristin says:

    Oh Harper Lee, you know how to vacation baby!!! XOXO!!! 😉

  10. What a great vacation. Pretty view.

  11. fozziemum says:

    How beautiful 🙂 and a glass of Pinot just to top it all off….we will be sending the pups and kitties on a ‘vacation’ of their own when we go away late in the year..shhhhh they don’t know..they do enjoy it though and the three hour trip to their boarding (the only one we trust with precious cargo) is filled with two dogs and four cats singing the song of their people….and us with ear plugs 😉 hugs Fozziemum xxx

  12. Jan K says:

    I love seeing your photos when you visit that place, Miss Lee, it is so beautiful and does look so relaxing. I think part of the difference is that “travel” can be exhausting, and “vacation” can be relaxing and restful like you said!

  13. 2browndawgs says:

    Ah your favorite vacation place. 🙂


Leave a Reply

