Tasty Tuesday Twofer: Zucchini Treats for Dogs and Humans

Zucchini 5 thek9harperlee

Last week my friend Miss Gaye (human mother to The Big Dogs) gave my human mommy a beautiful homegrown zucchini, and Mommy decided to make Zucchini Mini Muffins for humans. What? Mommy was actually taking time to prepare a special treat that wasn’t for me? I know. I was shocked too. But then the most wonderful thing happened: Mommy realized that she still had half of that beautiful zucchini left. Naturally, she began an Internet search for the perfect zucchini dog treat recipe. I knew she wouldn’t forget about me.

Zucchini 4 thek9harperlee

She settled on a Whole Wheat Zucchini Pupcake recipe from Doggie Stylish. The ingredient list is very simple:

  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 1 cup chicken stock
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1 cup grated zucchini

Zucchini 6 thek9harperlee

She combined all the ingredients except the zucchini, mixed well, and then added the zucchini, ensuring that it was evenly distributed in the batter. I was in charge of quality control, and I can tell you that my mommy did an excellent job of mixing.

Zucchini 7 thek9harperlee

She spooned the batter into a lined muffin tin, popped the muffin tin into the oven–which she had preheated to 375F–and baked the Whole Wheat Zucchini Pupcakes for 25 to 30 minutes. Now I will tell you that I truly did not understand the whole baking step. I thought the batter was perfectly fine before the pupcakes were baked . . .

Zucchini 8 thek9harperlee

. . . but then when I saw that the pupcakes more than doubled in size, I was pretty happy that I had waited for them to cook. And boy did those nice warm Whole Wheat Zucchini Pupcakes ever taste yummy.

Zucchini 1 thek9harperlee

Now I know what you’re thinking: Miss Harper Lee, you promised a Tasty Tuesday twofer. Where’s that recipe for the human zucchini treats? Here it is, and it comes from Cooking Light magazine so it’s good for you. The ingredient list is a little longer than the pupcake recipe, but it’s still pretty simple:

  • 6 ounces all-purpose flour (about 1-1/3 cups)
  • 1/2 cup packed dark brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground allspice
  • 2/3 cup shredded zucchini (about 1 medium zucchini, or the half of the large zucchini that’s left over after you’ve made Whole Wheat Zucchini Pupcakes)
  • 3 tablespoons canola oil
  • 2 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 2 tablespoons 1% low-fat milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten
  • Cooking spray

Zucchini 3 thek9harperlee

  • Preheat oven to 400F.
  • Weigh or lightly spoon flour in dry measuring cups; level with a knife. Combine flour and next five ingredients (through allspice) in a large bowl.
  • Combine zucchini and next five ingredients (through egg) in a small bowl; stir with a whisk.
  • Add zucchini mixture to flour mixture, stirring batter just until combined.
  • Divide batter evenly among 24 miniature muffin cups coated with cooking spray.
  • Bake at 400F for 10 minutes or until a wooden pick inserted in center of muffins comes out clean.

Zucchini 9 thek9harperlee

So if you find yourself with a beautiful large zucchini, head into the kitchen to make Whole Wheat Zucchini Pupcakes for your puppy dog friends and Zucchini Mini Muffins for your human friends. It’s a tasty twofer that will make everyone happy.

Today, I’m participating in the Tasty Tuesday blog hop, hosted by Kol’s Notes and Sugar the Golden Retriever. You can click on the link below for more yummy recipes and tasty treats.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

40 Comments on “Tasty Tuesday Twofer: Zucchini Treats for Dogs and Humans”

  1. Kuruk says:

    Those look so yumwumwumwum! xoxoxoxox, Ku

  2. The Big Dogs says:

    The pupcakes AND the human mini muffin treats were quite the HIT at our house!!

  3. This is just too adorable.

  4. So I am wondering why you couldn’t give the human version to Miss Harper Lee?

  5. Kristin says:

    SMOOCH!!!!! 🙂 🙂

  6. Those are awesome sounding recipes and I love zucchini, pinning this for sure to try.

  7. goldenwoofs says:

    Golden LOVE it! We had zucchini for dinner n Sugar had some shavings with her dinner. DELISH! Golden Thanks for sharing. Happy Tasty Tuesday.

  8. noahzbark says:

    You are just too cute, Harper, waiting patiently for your zucchini pupcakes. You have the best Mom that makes wonderful, healthy treats for you & for her friends too. Zucchini is one of the best vegetables for making breads. Yum, Yum & Yummy!

  9. oh Zuchinni looks great! We love zuchinni cake here for dogs and peeps

    retro rover

  10. fredrieka says:

    hope they share.. Woof

  11. Both of these look like super-tasty treats. They couldn’t go wrong with your flawless taste testing. But why are the muffins wrapped up in the last picture? Is your mom giving them away??

    • I know! I tried to stop her. I even suggested (you know, with my eyes) that she just freeze the treats so that I could have all of them little by little. But no, Mommy insists on sharing. She’s silly that way.

  12. Tera says:

    Both of these recipes sound delicious. I think I may even take a bite of the dog version. LOL Luckily I think my local grocery store has organic versions of all the ingredients. Do you think it would still taste OK if I substituted the canola oil with olive oil?

    Thanks for the great recipe. 🙂

  13. Jan K says:

    I just put in some zucchini plants, so I’ll definitely be looking for recipes this summer! Thanks for sharing. I wasn’t sure how you could tell them apart but then I realized the human ones were minis. You really rate, Miss Lee, if you got full sized ones and the humans got minis! 🙂

  14. 2browndawgs says:

    Those look yummy. You are a good doggie to wait while they baked. 🙂

  15. DZ Dogs says:

    Do you have a favorite recipe? Dante turns 2 tomorrow and I’m making cake!

  16. Toby says:

    What are the calorie count

  17. Ooh, ooh…we love zucchini baked goods. Thanks for sharing the recipe! Sam wouldn’t eat a vegetable if his life depended on it but as a vegetarian, that just means more for me. Ha! 🙂


Leave a Reply

