It’s Official: I’m a Snake Charmer

Snake 6 thek9harperlee

Yesterday I officially joined the Instagram Snake Charmers Club, which from this point on will be referred to simply as #snakecharmers. Not familiar with the #snakecharmers? If you’re on Instagram, check out the hashtag. I think the photos will tell you all you need to know. If you’re not on Instagram, I’ll do my best to explain. The #snakecharmers are a group of  Instagram dogs with snake toys. (As of this writing, there are only dogs in the club, but I’m sure membership would be open to pigs, cats, birds, guinea pigs, etc. It’s a fairly non-exclusive club.) Sounds pretty simple so far, right? Here’s where it gets more interesting. There are various chapters of the #snakecharmers. There’s an East Coast Chapter (rumor has it the #snakecharmers originated in Florida) and a West Coast Chapter, a New England Chapter and a Midwest Chapter, a Georgia Chapter and an Arizona Chapter. There’s even a Special Ops Team and an International Chapter. I’ve heard whispers about an Undercover Chapter, but I was sworn to secrecy so my lips are sealed.

Snake 5 thek9harperlee

But back to me. There’s nothing quite like that special moment when a girl meets her snake and the charming begins. It starts off slowly, quietly, and gently.

Snake 4 thek9harperlee

Then a little bit of crazy kicks in and it’s best just to stand back and watch . . . from a very safe distance.

Snake 3 thek9harperlee

And voila! The snake has been charmed. He’s so charmed that he now has a name–Sammy–and he’s slithered up beside me for a nice little nap. We all know that snakes are cold-blooded creatures, so I’m sure he appreciates a little Golden warmth.

Snake 2 thek9harperlee

Who knew snake charming could be so exhausting? Boy am I happy that the weekend is here and I’ll have a chance to catch up on my sleep. Many, many thanks to my sweet Instagram friend @johnanng and the 3 Crazy Retrievers for introducing me to the #snakecharmers. The club started just a week ago, and it’s growing by leaps and bounds. What do you say? Any interest from the blogging community?

33 Comments on “It’s Official: I’m a Snake Charmer”

  1. fredrieka says:

    I want one of those woof

  2. Haha love it. Great fun playing with that fun snake.

  3. Dina says:

    I’ll have convince Mom to get a snake and we’ll join the international chapter.

  4. fozziemum says:

    Goodness me sweet girl …we get enough of the real ones here hahahahah 🙂 Forrest is a snake charmer but that ended in a vet trip and some antivene…..goodness me..you do look pretty though 🙂 hugs Fozziemum xx

  5. dorysbackyard says:

    This sounds like fun!! We will have to start our search for a snake to charm!!
    Smileys!
    Dory, Jakey, Arty & Bilbo

  6. What a fun group! We have to get us a snake too!

  7. You’ve charmed us all with everything else you do, Miss Harper Lee, so it’s not surprise you’re also a snake charmer.
    Wonderful, funny, happy post!!!
    p.s. I’m doing a post of laughter tomorrow, and I’ll include the link to your wonderful post!

  8. Emmadog says:

    My mom has such a fear and dislike of snakes, we can’t even have a toy one around! Yours looks cute, though.

    • My mommy is not much of a real snake fan, either (that may be the biggest understatement ever by me :-)), but I did some heavy duty convincing and finally won her over on the idea of a snake toy. 😉

  9. noahzbark says:

    Your stuffed snake is the cutest snake I’ve ever seen Harper. I’d love to see more pictures & stories of your snake charming abilities. They’ll be “charming”! Hehe.

  10. Marty the Manx says:

    Looks like you like your new life as a snake charmer. 🙂

  11. […] My happiest suggestion to add laughter to your life is this: become a snake charmer. Miss Harper Lee (not the author, but a darling, funny golden retriever) teaches you how in just a few pictures. Do yourself a favor and click on her link: https://thek9harperlee.wordpress.com/2014/05/30/its-official-im-a-snake-charmer/ […]

    • Thank you so much for including me in your lovely post about happiness and laughter. My human mommy says that I am a constant source of happiness and laughter, even when I roll in putrid things . . . although the happiness and laughter may be a bit delayed!

  12. goldenwoofs says:

    PAWsome to be a snake charmer. Guess what Sugar finally joined in 🙂 Golden Woofs

  13. Jan K says:

    Sammy is way cuter than the snake I saw down in my garden this morning!

    The last stuffed snake Luke “charmed” has been beheaded.

  14. 2browndawgs says:

    Sammy is cute. Glad you charmed him.

  15. dogdaz says:

    I love your charming snake.

  16. […] Here’s one of my favorite blogging golden retrievers, TheK9HarperLee, exhibiting the snake charming ritual…(see post:  It’s Official-I’m a Snake Chamrer ) […]

    • Thanks so much for mentioning me in your blog today. As you can tell from the photo, my charming skills involve a lot of lulling the snake to sleep and then joining him in a little nap. 🙂


Leave a Reply

