Rerun: Detour Part 2

The Lakes 5 thek9harperlee

Now I couldn’t rerun “Detour Part 1” without rerunning “Detour Part 2,” could I? So here you have it. You know, I think I’m kind of getting the hang of this blogging alone thing. By the time my human mommy/blogging assistant finally gets back, I might not need her any more. Just kidding. I think we make a pretty good team . . .

My not-so-great day last week ended up being a better-than-expected day with not one but two destinations. In Detour: Part 1, I told you about what turned out to be a beautiful trip to BREC Independence Community Park. While our walk around the Botanic Garden was lovely, my human mommy decided that the exercise element was less than adequate. So we returned to the car and headed to LSU Lake.

The Lakes 2 thek9harperlee

I love walking around The Lakes (technically LSU Lake and City Park Lake, but everyone just calls them The Lakes.) There are so many people and dogs running, jogging, and walking along the shores, turtles sunning on stumps, and egrets, ducks, and white pelicans floating on the water or gliding above its glassy surface.

The Lakes 3 thek9harperlee

At one point, I spotted some ducks making their way to the other side of the lake, and for just a moment I thought about diving into the water after them. Then I glanced back at my mommy and decided that it would be best to keep my Golden Retriever instincts in check. This day had already taken enough detours.

The Lakes 1 thek9harperlee

As the sun began to set and dusk settled over the lake, I thought about what a truly excellent afternoon my mommy and I had enjoyed. Nothing really worked out as planned, but the results were more than we expected.

14 Comments on “Rerun: Detour Part 2”

  1. Maryanne says:

    The dusk photo would make a beautiful postcard!

  2. Bernie Mac says:

    I nominated you for the Shine On Award on my blog today! Pop by to grab the badge and the rules 🙂

  3. fozziemum says:

    Haahhah doing very well sweet girl 🙂 who needs peeps to blog 🙂 hugs Fozziemum xx

  4. cafall says:

    I hear those pelicans can put up a mean fight, if you catch them in a bad mood…

    Monty and Harlow

  5. Misaki says:

    sometimes unplanned days are the best!


Leave a Reply

