Home Sweet Home

Porch thek9harperlee

At long last, my humans have returned to me. That’s right. We are together again. Home, sweet home.

TicTacToe thek9harperlee

Now don’t feel too sorry for me. While my humans were off trotting the globe, I was spending two glorious weeks with my friends The Big Dogs–Sunshine, Maggie, and Kenai. This is a picture that Miss Gaye sent to my human mommy while she and my human daddy were who knows where doing who knows what. That’s Sunshine at the top and Maggie at the bottom with me in the middle. Kenai was off doing whatever it is that boy dogs do when they leave the girl dogs behind. It is quiteΒ possible that seeing this picture of me convinced Mommy to get on the plane and head for home.

Berlin, Germany

Berlin, Germany

Meanwhile, my humans were off seeing things like this . . .

Tallinn, Estonia

Tallinn, Estonia

. . . and this . . .

Stockholm, Sweden

Stockholm, Sweden

. . . and this. But enough about my humans and their gallivanting. The important thing is that we are all back home and back together. And things are getting back to normal.

Walking thek9harperlee

That means early morning walks in my neighborhood. So many smells that I missed.

Garden thek9harperlee

And offering my expert assistance as Mommy putters in the garden. So many weeds to pull.

Sleeping thek9harperlee

And of course, catching up with all of you, my friends. But first, I think I’ll just put my head down on this shelf and take a little nap. It’s good to be home.

35 Comments on “Home Sweet Home”

  1. fredrieka says:

    you might now miss your friends, I would miss my momwithoutpaws alot

    • Oh, I do miss my friends . . . very, very much. I have to say that their house tends to be a whole lot more fun than mine . . . and their humans are a lot better at sneaking snacks to puppy dogs than mine!

  2. Glad your all back together again. Wow Germany looks like a great time.

    • Thank you! Germany was fantastic. It was really something to see what remains of the Berlin Wall and the pavers throughout the city that marks the places where it used to be. Hard to believe that that was all so recent.

  3. PigLove says:

    Aaawww beautiful we have missed you here at the Hotel Thompson. Those gorgeous eyes – that pink so enticing nose – and those golden locks. Glad your humans went off and had some fun – great pictures! XOXO – Bacon

    • Once again, you’ve made my Golden heart go pitter patter, Bacon. Sometimes we have to let our humans have a little time on their own . . . and it makes them love us even more when they get back home. πŸ™‚

  4. cafall says:

    Yay! Welcome home everyone!

    Monty and Harlow

  5. ThatJenK says:

    How much did you love Berlin?! I bet the World Cup enthusiasm was next level insanity!

    But I suppose it’s always good to come home again. I definitely missed Moses and Alma during our recent travels – though would’ve maybe preferred they just come and join us over there rather than me returning to the daily grind πŸ˜‰

    • Loved, loved, loved Berlin! I think it was my favorite city that we visited. I was totally unprepared for all of the interesting and diverse architecture and the number of museums. We were there for just a day, and I would absolutely love to go back for a week. The day we were there was the day the U.S. played Germany in the World Cup. There was a huge viewing party at the Brandenburg Gate and fans were already streaming in early that morning to watch the match. Everyone was so nice to us. Needless to say, we’re now pulling for Germany to win it all. πŸ™‚ Yes, if only we could have shipped Miss Harper Lee Star Trek-style to be with us there, we might have stayed forever.

      • ThatJenK says:

        Yes, my World Cup strategy has been ‘root for the teams of countries you’ve visited’, so jumping on the Germany bandwagon has served me well! Would be very cool to see it there.

  6. Oh Miss Lee, you must be so happy to be with your mom again! Wooooowoooooooo, xoxoxoxoxoxo Ku

    • We’re both super happy, Ku. She can’t stop hugging and kissing me, and I don’t want to let her out of my sight.I have a feeling you and your mom would be the same exact way.

  7. dorysbackyard says:

    Looks like you had a fun time with your friends Harper Lee, but it is always nice to go home!!
    Smileys!
    Dory, Jakey, Arty & Bilbo

  8. Wow, your parents had an amazing vacation! It looks like you had a golden good time too! It’s always nice to be back together as a family. β™₯

  9. Awwww. That vacation tired you out as much as it tired out your parents, Miss HL. The shelf-nap was a good idea and looks very sweet.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  10. I am so glad your humans are home again, but I’m glad you have such good friends to hang out with when they go off gallivanting. So many interesting things to see in Europe!

    • I’m a very lucky girl to have such great Golden friends and such a fabulous place to stay while my humans are away. It’s actually a bit boring now that I’m back at home. πŸ˜‰

  11. Looks like your Mom and Dad had a wonderful trip! Glad you are all home together again Miss Harper Lee. You have a nice long nap and a good cuddle πŸ™‚
    Marty

    • Apparently my humans did have a great time. I’m constantly hearing them say, “Remember when were were in . . . and we saw . . . and we ate . . . and we drank . . . ?” Hopefully they won’t force me to look at all the pictures. πŸ˜‰

  12. Welcome back Miss HL!! We did miss you butt mom LOVED all the photos your mom posted on IG of their trip. Did they bring you anything back??
    Wally & Sammy

    • Thanks boys! Mommy’s not a big shopper, so she didn’t buy a single thing . . . not even for me. But she experienced every possible thing she could and took tons and tons of pictures. Be thankful she didn’t post more on IG. πŸ™‚

  13. Welcome home to your parents. I was following them on intagram. πŸ™‚

  14. Lounging on a lawn with other Goldens! Your time away from Mommy and Daddy could not have been that bad!

  15. Jan K says:

    So glad everyone is back home, Miss Lee, we missed you all! πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

