Comfort Food . . . K9 Style

Comfort Food 2 thek9harperlee

We’re all familiar with human comfort foods . . . things like macaroni and cheese, meatloaf, chocolate cake. Would it surprise you to know that canines have comfort foods too? It’s time for you to get to know my favorite summertime comfort food.

Comfort Food 1 thek9harperlee

Where I live, summers are hot . . . I mean really hot . . . and humid . . . I mean really humid. So naturally my favorite summertime comfort treat has to be frozen.

Comfort Food 3 thek9harperlee

And naturally it has to include three of my all-time favorite ingredients: yogurt, peanut butter, and bananas. Yum!

Comfort Food 4 thek9harperlee

My human mommy mashed a banana in a bowl. Then she added a heaping teaspoon of smooth peanut butter to the mashed banana. Luckily for me, that was the last of the peanut butter, so I got to lick the jar. Bonus!

Comfort Food 5 thek9harperlee

Finally, she added two tablespoons of plain yogurt to the bowl and mixed everything with a spoon. I got to lick the spoon. Pretty clean, don’t you think? Mommy could have just put it back into the drawer, but for some reason she decided that it needed to go into the dishwasher. Whatever.

Comfort Food 6 thek9harperlee

While I watched, Mommy spooned the yogurt-peanut butter-banana mixture into molds and then popped the molds into the freezer.

Comfort Food 7 thek9harperlee

Meanwhile, I got to lick the bowl. Yes! As with the spoon I licked, I thought the bowl was clean enough to go right back into the cabinet. Mommy didn’t quite agree, so the bowl joined the spoon in the dishwasher.

Comfort Food 8 thek9harperlee

And after just a few hours in the freezer, my treats were ready to eat. Now that’s a tasty treat that can comfort a canine even on the hottest of summer days!

Footnote thek9harperlee

Footnote: If you don’t have fancy little molds, don’t worry. You can put small spoonfuls of the yogurt-peanut butter-banana mixture on a cookie sheet to freeze. Trust a dog on this: We don’t care how it looks; we just want a taste. BONE appetit!

Today, I’m participating in the Tasty Tuesday blog hop, hosted by Kol’s Notes and Sugar the Golden Retriever. You can click on the link below for more yummy recipes and tasty treats.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

44 Comments on “Comfort Food . . . K9 Style”

  1. lol love your footnote! Have a wonderful day.

  2. cafall says:

    Oh yum yum! We will have to try this! I’m not sure Harlow will be keen on the banana part, but maybe she won’t notice… 😉

    Stop by our blog on Friday! We have given you an award!

    Monty and Harlow

    • Pretty sure the yummy peanut butter will be so fabulously overwhelming that she will never ever notice the banana; but you could always skip the banana or add something else that she likes. And thank you so much for the upcoming award. So sweet of you!

  3. Mumsy's Little Chancy Man says:

    That sounds good to me but Chancy don’t like bananas or yogurt. We think you did a very good job cleaning that bowl and spoon. Hugs and nose kisses

    • I need to live with Chancy. That would mean twice the bananas and yogurt for me! I am an excellent dishwasher, but for some odd reason Mommy still insists on putting everything into that big box to be washed. 🙂

  4. That sounds wonderful! I think my Grandpa would like those as much as Mazie would! Love the “foot note” Miss Harper Lee!
    Marty

  5. Ogee says:

    Bella and Jackson have read your blog and registered their demands. A project. Thanks…I think! 🙂

  6. Kuruk says:

    Oh Miss Lee, I think your cleaning skills are pawfect! Woooooowoooooooo, xoxoxoxox, Ku

  7. Yum! My Mom shares peanut butter and bananas with me but I have never tried yogurt. That will be next! Barks and licks and love, Dakota

    • You’ve never tried yogurt?!?! OMD, Dakota, you’re missing such a treat. When Mommy eats her yogurt in the morning, I sit about 1 cm from her–begging and drooling and forcing her to eat really, really quickly–and then I get to lick the bowl. I insist that your mom share a little yogurt with you in the very near future!

  8. What she had to wash them again?! But you did such a wonderful job the first time…humans are so weird! BUT at least they know all the most yummy treats to give to us!

  9. Great summer treat idea! Feeling the Louisiana summer here too! UGH! ☺

  10. You lucky dog. Thanks for the great idea!

  11. MH Hatcher says:

    Adorable pictures of your taste tester!! Harper Lee, your mommy is the best to make you so many yummy and healthy treats!!
    Love,
    MH

  12. Yum! I love those yogurt treats. Mom makes them for me all the time. This time, she used applesauce instead of a banana. And we do NOT have a fancy mold. She uses an ice cube tray and puts in a Mini MilkBone for a handle, so she can hold it while I lick it.

    Love and licks and comfort,
    Cupcake

  13. Rebekah says:

    I would eat those!

  14. Olive says:

    YUM!

    Looks like you had fun making everything – I wish I got to lick bowls clean!

  15. These look so easy and all ingredients i have too – we may just make them! Thanks Harper.

  16. goldenwoofs says:

    For sure you are so happy mom and dad are back 🙂 Oh! secret ingredient: BANANA! Yout gotta check our post on Saturday 🙂 Happy Tasty Tuesday. Golden Woofs

  17. YUM!!!! We love it when mom makes us frozen dessert in summer too. We usually get ours in our Kongs.
    Wally & Sammy

  18. I will freeze pumpkin in a Kong for Louie and he loves it. I use peanut butter to give him his Benadryl (his allergies are as bad as mine) but it gives him gloopy poopy. We are at the end of the peanut butter jar, so he’ll get that to lick. I’ll just have to use 2 bags to clean up after him on our walk tomorrow.

  19. Emmadog says:

    Oh yeah! I feel comfy just looking at this post!

  20. Jan K says:

    We have some molds, but usually not enough for all that I make in a batch. I use regular ice cube trays too, and just put a little in the bottom, but I’ve done it on cookie sheets as well. You are right, the dogs sure don’t care what shape they are in! Do you make any with other fruits too?

    • We’ve done some strawberry-banana-yogurt frozen treats and we’ve frozen some blueberries in ice cubes and then put the ice cubes in my water bowl. It’s a little freaky . . . kind of like the ice cubes are staring at you. 🙂

  21. That looks super yummy!

  22. DZ Dogs says:

    Yummers!! We love anything with peanutbutter!


Leave a Reply

