My Annual V-E-T Visit

Vet 1 thek9harperlee

When I woke up this morning, it was raining cats and dogs. (You know that’s just a saying, right? I mean, cats and dogs were not literally falling from the sky. Well, of course you knew that.) Clearly, this was not going to be a good hair day.

Vet 2 thek9harperlee

And then my human mommy delivered some devastating news. Because of all the rain, we would not be going for our morning walk. What? I have webbed feet, so I seriously did not see why we couldn’t handle a few puddles. Apparently, though, Mommy’s feet are not webbed, so she vetoed the walk. Whatever. But there was a silver lining to my rainy-gray-cloud day. Instead of taking our morning walk, we were going to the V-E-T for my annual checkup.

Vet 3 thek9harperlee

Now I know what a lot of my puppy dog friends are thinking right now: Going to the V-E-T is absolutely not a silver lining. In fact, for a lot of you, going to the V-E-T  is actually one giant gray cloud. (You’ll note that I am spelling out V-E-T because I know that for some the mere mention of the word makes you tremble.) But I have to say that I love, love, love visiting my V-E-T. (You can click here to read all about my friends at Jefferson Animal Hospital and the laser treatment I had there for my elbow dysplasia.)

Vet 4 thek9harperlee

Mommy, can’t you see that it’s raining and I’m eager to get into the V-E-T’s office? Take your silly picture and let’s go.

Vet 5 the k9harperlee

And just when I thought that going to the V-E-T couldn’t possibly get any better, we walked through the door and there was my friend Honey, who lives down the street from me. Time to meet and greet and catch up on all the neighborhood gossip.

Vet 6 thek9harperlee

And of course, kisses, kisses, kisses. (Note to my blogging assistant/photographer/human mommy: If you cannot learn to take non-blurry action photos, I’m going to have to find a new photographer.) Honey and I could have stayed in the reception area playing and kissing all day long, but apparently humans have these things called schedules and appointments, so we had to go our separate ways.

Vet 7 thek9harperlee

After a quick weigh-in (just for the record, my weight is perfect), I went to a very exciting back room for my exam. My V-E-T checked my ears and my eyes . . . and then he looked at my teeth. Turns out that I’ll be going back to the V-E-T in a few weeks to have my teeth cleaned. You may recall the last time I had my teeth cleaned. As my dear piggy friend Bacon said, I was a DUI–Doggy Under the Influence. (The photos are here if you need a good laugh.)

Vet 8 thek9harperlee

Then came the needles. Oops . . . I guess I should have warned you that photo was on its way.  I had a little blood drawn and then got poked several times with various vaccinations before having something squirted up my nose. I did not see that coming, but through it all I was a real trooper and never let out the slightest little cry.

Vet 9 thek9harperlee

The next part of the exam was a little humiliating. Let’s just say that it happened pretty far back from my nose. I have a feeling that they do that part last because it’s a little hard to make eye contact after a human has been back there doing that. Fortunately, everything looked good under the microscope. Is that too much information?

Vet 10 thek9harperlee

And just like that, my annual V-E-T visit was over and I was back home. Between visiting with my friend Honey and then being the center of human attention while I stood nicely on the exam table, the whole morning was quite exhausting. I think I’ll just put my head down and take a little nap. Wake me when dinner is served.

32 Comments on “My Annual V-E-T Visit”

  1. MH Hatcher says:

    Harper Lee, I love the name of your vet clinic!!

  2. cafall says:

    Our pups love to go to the vet too! We will sneak out and let you go back to sleep!

    Monty and Harlow

    • It’s a day later, and I’m still trying to sleep off the effects of my visit. Not sure if it was all the excitement or all the shots, but I may need one more day of recovering. Plus it’s raining again . . . perfect excuse to be lazy. 😉

  3. What a trooper, Miss HL. I’m assuming there were treats involved before, during, and after the visit. I’m glad everything checked out well. We’re heading back to check out your DUI photos now….

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  4. Emmadog says:

    That was quite amusing! I don’t have a grey cloud when I have to go to the vet, I have a black cloud! I’m a dog that trembles at the very mention of the place. They are all nice but it scares me to death! Nice for you that you enjoy it.

    • Oh, Emma, I’m very sorry that going to the vet scares you so. I’ll bet your mom holds you closely and whispers calming things to you. That has to help . . . at least a little.

  5. Kuruk says:

    Oh Miss Lee, you are so pawesome at the V-E-T! xoxoxoxoxoxox, Ku

  6. How nice to get to catch up on the doggy gossip at the v-e-t! Bentley loves to go visit our new doctor too. Did you get the kennel cough medicine up your nose? I always feel the v-e-t and i should at least have a snack or drink before he goes doing you know what, you know where! BOL

  7. I was at the vet last week for my “annual” too! I just sit and smile the entire time that I am there. Barks and licks and love, Dakota

  8. Sage says:

    You are pawsome, MHL! I was like that when Toby was alive and we were going almost every week. But I’m a bit ambivalent now. They know NOT to stick anything up my posterior, for example–the rest is OK. Ya gotta do whatcha gotta do…

  9. Wells, that is FABulous news Miss Harper Lee!!! hey, you can take my place the next time I have to go get my nails trimmed..okay?
    Oh, BTW, I thinks your furs look most FABulous in the rain!
    Kisses,
    Ruby ♥

    • I’m a bit of a sissy when it comes to having my nails done, so that may not work out too well. You should have seen my furs today, Ruby. Mommy thought we could beat the rain on our walk. She was wrong, and we both came home looking like wet rats . . . but I was the pretty blonde one. 🙂

  10. OhMelvin says:

    V E T visits are so important! Glad you got yours in! Melvin loves the vet too! Jake isn’t as impressed.

  11. What a great visit, so glad you are healthy and you saw your friend there. I took MK the cat in today for her visit, she did great too.

    • So happy to hear that MK’s vet visit went well. There were so many kitty cats at my vet yesterday. I knew the visit was kind of stressful for them, so I did my best to leave them alone. 😉

  12. noahzbark says:

    Love when you share your daily activities, Miss Harper. Youre a wonderful story teller! It’s good news to hear that all’s well. xo

    • Awwwww, thank you so much for the very kind words. I’ve been a little extra sleepy today (the day after my vet visit). Not sure if it’s from all the excitement from the visit or all the shots, but I’m definitely taking advantage of yet another rainy day to be very, very lazy!

  13. Sometimes I get so excited about going to the vet, I overshoot and run right past the door!
    I get all frizzy on rainy days, as well. Sometimes it’s just tough to be a golden!

  14. pawedblog says:

    Aww Miss HL!! You are so brave, and such a good girl. Though, it looks like you actually had quite a nice time! You seem to enjoy it more than most, that’s true!
    Hugs, Carrie and Pups x

  15. Those Vet visits can be exhausting. Glad you got a clean bill of health!

  16. I don;t mind visiting the other dogs at the vet… but the vet herself can do without my visit, I;m sure…


Leave a Reply

