I Might Be Spoiled

Spoiled 1 thek9harperlee

This morning, my human mommy looked at me and she actually uttered the following words: “Miss Harper Lee, I think you might be spoiled.” Have you ever heard such nonsense in your whole life? I gave her a lookΒ that obviously said, “I have absolutely no idea what you mean.” And that’s when my mommy started to present her evidence. First she suggested that the fact that I have three beds proves that I am spoiled. Clearly she is wrong on this count. A dog needs a bed in multiple rooms because you just never know when the overwhelming desire for a nap is going to hit. So I have one bed in my humans’ bedroom and another bed in the den and another bed in the . . . den. Hmmmm. Well the den is a pretty big room so it makes sense to have one bed at one end and another bed at the other end, right? And I do spend time on each and every bed each and every day. I think I win on that point.

Spoiled 2 thek9harperlee

So then Mommy brought up the whole subject of Bark Boxes. My new Bark Box arrived yesterday, and it joined my last two Bark Boxes that are still almost completely filled with unopened treats. And that’s in addition to the packages of opened treats that nearly fill one entire shelf in the refrigerator. My friends, I am completely and totally innocent on this count. Mommy is the one who subscribed to the Bark Boxes (honestly, I think my humans get every bit as excited about opening those monthly boxes as I get) and perhaps if Mommy wasn’t so darn stingy with the treats, we’d empty those boxes a little faster around here.

Spoiled 3 thek9harperlee

Having lost on those first two points, Mommy pulled out my toy basket. You might recall that it wasn’t so very long ago that Mommy bought a new toy basket for me because my old one was overflowing.Β Yes, this is my new toy basket. And yes, it is overflowing. Now I could argue that if Mommy had simply purchased a larger replacement toy basket we wouldn’t have this problem today. Or I could once again point out that I am very gentle with my toys and so I still have toys from years and years and years ago.

Spoiled 4 thek9harperlee

Let’s face facts, though: If a girl can lose her head in her toy basket, she probably has too many toys and she might–I said might–be ever so slightly spoiled. Point to Mommy on this one. And that’s when Mommy mentioned the number of collars and fancy collars I own. (You can click here and here and here and here to refresh your memory.) Enough, Mommy. You win.

Spoiled 5 thek9harperlee

I will admit it. I am spoiled . . . totally and completely and utterly spoiled rotten. But isn’t that the way it should be? Shouldn’t all dogs and cats and rabbits and birds and guinea pigs and turtles and fish and pigs and horses and animal companions of all kinds everywhere be totally and completely and utterly spoiled rotten? Here’s my dream for all of my fellow animals who are not at this moment spoiled (and, I might add, loved) as much as I am: I dream of a day when you too will have too many beds, too many treats, too many toys, too many collars . . . and just the right amount of love.

33 Comments on “I Might Be Spoiled”

  1. You made some good points there, Miss HL. But at the end of the day I have to agree – you’re spoiled. Not that there’s anything wrong with that. I share your hope that all pets have a chance to be spoiled rotten someday, if not sooner. Spoiled is my middle name. Sometimes, Mom calls me Spoiled as if it’s my first name! Go figure.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  2. Kuruk says:

    You deserve to be spoiled Miss Lee! And Bark Boxes!?!? Mama needs to look into that fur me! Woooooowooooooooo, xoxoxoxox, Ku

  3. pawedblog says:

    Miss HL, you are definitely spoiled… Though all of your points are completely valid. But you are right, that IS how it is supposed to be! I wish I could spoil the pups more, so we are subscribing to your dream!
    Hugs, Carrie and Pups x

  4. Cinnamon says:

    Miss Lee,

    We all deserve to be spoiled like you said,But you my friend look marvelous with a crown on
    your sweet little head. You rock the purple boa to the max, it makes your pretty eyes sparkle.

    xo Cinnamon

  5. Ms. Gaye says:

    you are a sweet girl and easy to spoil!

  6. Your not spoiled one bit! You are loved very much! Good luck to you on your upcoming CGC test. You can do it.

  7. Bentley doesn’t see either of you as spoiled…just properly appreciated. ☺

  8. We’re also spoiled…and that’s the way we like it!!
    Wally & Sammy

  9. Emmadog says:

    My sisters and I are spoiled rotten and love it! Mom loves to spoil us too. I think you are on the right track there with your parents too! You deserve to be spoiled.

  10. fredrieka says:

    Oh pish posh there is no such thing as spoiling us we are beautiful and they know it

  11. fozziemum says:

    Spoiled and adorable πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ hugs Fozziemum

  12. No way are you spoiled. πŸ™‚

  13. lynn says:

    My little dog sites not have near the toys and stuff you have but he is very spoiled just like all little darlings should be. You are so worth spoiling.

  14. Ginger Beagle says:

    Ms. Harper Lee, you aren’t spoiled at all, you just know how to live! I especially like the tiara- I’m hoping to get one this weekend for my birthday celebration πŸ™‚

    -Pepper

  15. Well Miss Harper Lee, I don’t know how we missed THIS post! Your Mama said spoiled like it was a bad word. Spoiled at our house means Loved bunches πŸ™‚ Ralphie and I have *ahem* 6 cat trees, 5 beds, 3 fleece wands, 2 Da Birds, 2 kitty grasses, 2 round scratcher/ball toys, 4 cubes, 2 tunnels, 2 ESSes, I can’t count how many nip mouses and balls……but you know what! We only have ONE nip Nanner!!!! WHAT! Oh, the girls aren’t left out. Mom has a big bed for Mazie upstairs and down, with replacements for washing time. The Puffs have 3 for the living room, they have to trade out depending on Anne’s ruptured disc and if she has to have her orthopaedic bed. So yes, we do know spoiled. Mom never had human kids, so her family gives us presents for Christmas! We think that is pretty great πŸ™‚ Mom donates a lot of stuff to the animal shelters, but tries to keep what seems to mean the most to her family when they give it to us.

  16. not spoiled… just well loved…

  17. Jan K says:

    You are absolutely right, Miss Lee, every pet should be thoroughly spoiled! We have one room in our house where there are actually three beds!!

  18. Miss Harper Lee I dream the same thing for all animals. That’s why I am vegan and my three spoiled rotten babies are also vegan. But there are not as gentle as you are and they eat their toys and their beds. But the two puppies do have their own room and they sleep on thier own twin size bed and in the morning I do jump into thier bed and sleep a couple of hours with them.


Leave a Reply

