How Much Is that Doggy in the Window?

Shopping 7-14 2 thek9harperlee

I am so excited to participate in Bacon and Fozzie’s Shopping Around the World extravaganza. Today, bloggers from every corner of the globe are letting us in on what they pay for five must-have items: toilet paper, a regular pack of ground beef, a store-bought pizza, a package of hot dogs, and a package of bacon. Last week, I sent my human mommy/blogging assistant/personal shopper to her favorite Target store in my little corner of the world–Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA–to pick up the items on our list. So here goes.

TOILET PAPER–A 15-roll package of Scott tissue–$12.79 + 9% tax = 13.94 (93 cents/roll)–I feel the need to explain why my Mommy purchased a package of toilet paper that’s practically big enough for me to hide behind. My humans have to use the “septic safe” toilet paper because we live in an old house with old pipes and Mommy prefers not to know the nice men from Roto-Rooter on a first-name basis. Normally, she buys what you would probably call a “normal” sized package; but this was the only size available on the day Mommy went to the store. There’s a distinct possibility that my humans will still be using this toilet paper as they ring in 2015.

Shopping 7-14 1 thek9harperlee

A REGULAR PACK OF GROUND BEEF–A one-pound package of lean ground beef–$5.49 + 3% tax = $5.65 (35 cents/ounce)–Thanks to this Shopping Around the World purchase, my humans enjoyed what they say are the very best homemade Sloppy Joe Sliders ever. Friends, you’ll just have to trust my humans on this one, because I didn’t get to enjoy even the teeny tiniest little bite. So unfair!

Archer Farms® Spinach & Feta Wood-Fired Pizza 14.8 oz

STORE-BOUGHT PIZZA–Archer Farms (that’s the store brand for Target) Spinach and Feta Pizza–$4.50 + 3% sales tax = $4.64 ($1.55/serving, which is 1/3 of the pizza)–This one was on sale, and Mommy has a hard time passing up a sale. It’s currently sitting in our freezer waiting for the start of American pre-season football.

Hotdog the k9harperlee

A PACKAGE OF HOT DOGS–Hebrew National 97% Fat Free Beef Franks (seven in the package)–$2.99 + 3% tax = $3.08 (44 cents per serving, which is one hot dog)–Mommy saved 90 cents on these because they were on sale. Big whoop, but Mommy seemed happy about her “bargain.” As you can see, I did get a teeny tiny taste of these franks . . . but just a teeny tiny taste. Hey, they’re practically fat free. Can’t a girl at least have one whole hot dog? Apparently not.

A PACKAGE OF BACON–Hormel Black Label Center Cut–$5.69 + 3% tax = $5.86 (73 cents/serving which is 2 slices from a 12-ounce package)–Because I love my sweet friend Bacon so very very much, I have asked Mommy not to include a photo of this item. I know it would simply be far too painful for him. I would like to point out, however, that bacon was second only to toilet paper when it comes to per-unit price. I’d say that puts you in some pretty good (and certainly extremely necessary) company, Mr. Bacon!

Are you interested to discover the price of these items all over the world? Click here to connect with Bacon’s Shopping Around the World post and then scan down to the comments to click on all the shoppers who are participating. Happy virtual shopping!

23 Comments on “How Much Is that Doggy in the Window?”

  1. fozziemum says:

    Bravo sweet girl what a great shop you did..and yes we are in a relatively new house but it is in a septic area…and we had a close encounter with our ‘bloke’ a while ago…just don’t want to even go there hahaah 🙂 seems pretty good prices and yummo on the slider! any wine left?? I think it’s a bit rough you got that itty bitty teeny weeny bit of hotdog 😦 poor darling 😉 thanks so much for a great trip to the shops and joining Bacon and I 🙂 hugs and loevs Fozziemum..who all of a sudden wants a hot dog??? xxx

  2. PigLove says:

    WOW my beautiful Harper. Your mom did great shopping. That pizza looks so good – my mouth is watering. I’m not sure if it’s for that pizza or knowing football season is almost here – squeal! Next time, you need to demand at least one dog. What’s with a bite? That’s such a tease – 😉 winks like you cutie! XOXO – Bacon

    • My humans just happen to be watching the first football game of the preseason right now. No pizza for them and not even a tiny taste of hot dog for me. They must be saving the good stuff for regular season!

      • PigLove says:

        They have to be! My humans are watching a game too. Not even a potato chip fell on rye floor. What’s up with that? XOXO – Bacon

  3. cafall says:

    I think I’m learning today that Arizona bacon is the most expensive around!

    Monty and Harlow

  4. Jan K says:

    Oh, I knew about their shopping hop but never thought of that when we saw you with the Scott t.p. yesterday. Good job! Your Mom sounds like a very smart shopper!

  5. Miss Harlper Lee, you are your usual breathtaking self, but not a word about LSU football with the season only a month away?
    Really, my dear. 🙂

  6. Miss Harper Lee, I can’t believe your Mom didn’t share one tiny bite of that delicious looking sloppy joe with you! But you did get a bite of that yummy hot dog! Now don’t go tee-pee-ing any houses with all that toilet paper 🙂
    Luvs
    Marty

  7. O…M…D it took us like 87 minutes to scroll down from the picture of the sloppy joe…we could practically SMELL how good it must taste *licks lips*

    Thanks for sharing Miss HL and as for the TINY piece of hot dog that you got…well, all we can say is at least you got a tiny piece ‘cos we got nothing to taste test from the list this month *hurrumph*

    Wally & Sammy

  8. I just loved the caption! Pawkisses for a Happy Day..and maybe another bite of HotDog 😉

  9. Rama's Mama says:

    How fun! I wanna play!

  10. Bacon is so expensive. Normally I only buy it when the tomatoes are ripe for BLT’s, which is starting now. I had some sticker shock!


Leave a Reply

