Book Report: A Chewy Little Read

I Could Chew thek9harperlee

Students have already returned to the classroom where I live. Big yellow buses rumble down the street weekday mornings and afternoons, and on my daily walks I stop so that little children can give me a pat before scurrying through the doors of my neighborhood school. I’m back in school, too. My obedience classes started again a few weeks ago and I even have a new teacher. I’m pretty excited. So, in the spirit of a new school year, I’ve decided to start writing the occasional book report.

Today’s report is on a funny little book that every single one of my human mommy’s dog-loving friends will eventually receive from her–I Could Chew on This: and Other Poems by Dogs by Francesco Marciuliano, author of the New York Times bestseller I Could Pee on This: And Other Poems by Cats. The book’s jacket offers this overview:

In I Could Chew on This you’ll find poems penned by dogs that get to the root of their loyalty, optimism, obsessive chewing, and deep-seated need to smell every new butt that passes by. Discover why they do things like try to lick the inside of your nostril, eat bird poop, stop and smell one square inch of sidewalk for an eternity, bark at a dog five times their size, and greet you every day like you’ve been gone for weeks.

Does any of that sound familiar? To give you a little taste of this entertaining and insightful book, I’d like to share two of my favorite poems.

Deposit thek9harperlee

Another Bag

Love

True, unbridled love

Is looking at what I just did

On the sidewalk

And then picking it up in a bag

I can only imagine as a treasured keepsake

Wow, the collection you must have by now

Trick 3 thek9harperlee

Halloween

I don’t want to go as a ballerina

For Halloween

Fine, I’ll go as a ballerina

If you don’t take any photos of me

Fine, you can take one photo of me for Facebook

If I don’t have to go outside in this outfit

Fine, I’ll go outside in this outfit

If I don’t have to be embarrassed house to house

Fine, I’ll be embarrassed house to house

If I can have some of your chocolate

What do you mean dogs can’t have chocolate?

Fine, I’ll just eat the wrappers

If I can throw up in your bag

The book is divided into four chapters–Inside, Outside, By Your Side, and Heavy Thinking. In addition to all the clever poems you’ll find adorable photos. I Could Chew on This is the perfect gift for any dog lover, but just a little word of advice: If you’re buying one for a friend, go ahead and get one for yourself, too. You’ll be glad you did.

13 Comments on “Book Report: A Chewy Little Read”

  1. fredrieka says:

    woof I should write more poems

  2. I love poems, this was a awesome review. Pinned it for later.

  3. with the TONS of books I have reviewed on Dakota’s blog….haven’t been sent this one yet!

  4. Sounds like a great book!

    xxxx

  5. cafall says:

    We will have to look for it!

    Monty and Harlow

  6. Sounds like a great book! What a fun silly picture of you Miss Harper Lee!

  7. OMD! I simply have to buy this book now! I want to read more!!!

  8. pawedblog says:

    Thanks for the snippets, I have had this book on my wishlist for a while now… it looks better than I imagined so I think I will go ahead and place that order!
    Hugs, Carrie and Pups x

  9. Miss Harper Lee, now you are a poster child for poetry. What next?? Your ballerina costume becomes you, I might add…where are your purple and gold tutus?? 🙂

  10. OMD we LOVE those poems!!!
    Wally & Sammy

  11. Sage says:

    Some amazing poems–I caught Mom smiling when she read them to me. Looks like a good book!


Leave a Reply

