Countdown to Kickoff: Tasty Tailgating Treats

Countdown Treats 1 edit thek9harperlee

Who says college football tailgating is just for humans? Dogs enjoy a tasty treat before the game just as much as anyone, so my human mommy and I whipped up a little something for me to share with all of my canine friends before the big LSU Tigers season opener this Saturday.

Countdown Treats 2 thek9harperlee

To make these tasty tailgating treats, we turned to a couple of recipes that we’ve used before: Happy Hip Bones Treats from 3mbakery and cream cheese frosting from Wear.Wag.Repeat. (You can click here and here for links to the recipes.) I was in charge of quality control, and a I can assure you that the combination of oat flour, peanut butter, turmeric, ginger, and apple cider vinegar more than met my very high standards.

Countdown Treats 3 thek9harperlee

While I supervised watched, Mommy cut the rolled out dough into footballs, football helmets, and of course L-S-U. And then we popped the treats into the oven and waited for an eternity 30 minutes.

Countdown Treats 5 thek9harperlee

I let Mommy decorate the golden cookies with purple cream cheese frosting . . . perfect colors for an LSU tailgate. Now Mommy would have you believe that she planned for the treats to be gold, but it was just a happy coincidence thanks to the turmeric. She thinks that might be a sign of good things to come for our Tigers this Saturday. She thinks funny things like that when it comes to football.

Countdown Treats 4 thek9harperlee

But I won’t make too much fun of Mommy’s silly football superstitions because she made this extra special cookie just for me, HL. It was gone in one bite. Yummy!

Countdown Treats 6 thek9harperlee

We’ve packaged our canine tailgating treats and will deliver them over the next few days so that all of my doggy friends will have a little something to enjoy before the big game. Just a word of caution for my friends: Saving these tasty treats for Saturday may prove to be a bit of a test!

Tasty Tuesday Blog Hop

Today, I’m participating in the Tasty Tuesday blog hop, hosted by Kol’s Notes and Sugar the Golden Retriever. You can click on the link below for more yummy recipes and tasty treats.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

29 Comments on “Countdown to Kickoff: Tasty Tailgating Treats”

  1. Maggie, Sunshine, Kenai says:

    Geaux Tigers!

  2. Nice!!! They certainly look yummy!!

  3. Cinnamon says:

    Miss Lee
    those look yummy.
    Hope your team wins the game.

    xo Cinnamon

  4. Misaki says:

    they look so yummy!

  5. FleaByte says:

    Whoa! You’re in Louisiana? Did I not know this? I’ll be traveling through in late October and again in early November, carrying treats. I’ll be coming through Shreveport, Alexandria, Baton Rouge and New Orleans. We should have lunch!

  6. Jan K says:

    Those look great! I think it’s definitely a good sign that they turned out just the right color…superstitions are very important when it comes to sports. 🙂

    • My humans are hilarious during the games. They have to sit in very specific spots on the couch and sometimes when things aren’t going well they stand up to give our teams a little help. Ok, now that I think about it maybe they’re a little more crazy than hilarious!

  7. Emmadog says:

    How fun! We do something similar with our friends at Christmas with cookies.

  8. Great job those look very nummy, enjoy.

  9. You know that we LOVE these cookies!! We are so excited for kick off! I am looking for some Basset Hound ear plugs cuz Mom & Dad scream VERY LOUD!

  10. Those look yummy! You have lucky friends.

  11. Those look yummy! Mom is going to go check out the recipe!
    Marty

  12. goldenwoofs says:

    Tumeric and ginger, interesting. We will check the icing. Sugar will love it, its purple. DELISH! Happy Tasty Tuesday

    • Turmeric and ginger are both anti-inflammatories so they’re good for our joints and the icing is just cream cheese and food color. Mommy used the light cream cheese, of course!

  13. MyDogLikes says:

    Yummy! I wish we lived close by and were on your delivery loop! 😛

  14. OMD those tailgate treats look DELICIOUS!!!
    We only recently found out what tailgate parties are *BOL*
    Wally & Sammy

    • Well now that you know what tailgating is all about, I insist that you indulge. The treats taste delicious too. It’s funny that my human mommy has never ever decorated human cookies, but for me and all my doggy friend . . . anything!


Leave a Reply

