Why I Love Fall

Fall leaves thek9harperlee

I absolutely and positively love fall. Cooler temperatures mean longer and more frequent walks. Crisp days are perfect for lounging on the lawn. Tiny sticks start to fall from the trees like manna from heaven. But do you know my favorite thing about fall?

Love fall 2 thek9harperlee

The arrival of autumn marks the end of the dreaded driveway bath. A couple of weeks ago, I endured what I hope will be my final humiliation . . . at least for several months to come.

Love fall 3 thek9harperlee

Yes, friends, I put on a brave face. I held my head high, drenched and dripping, as people and dogs walked by . . . and gawked.

Love fall 1 thek9harperlee

I’ll admit that I even fantasized, briefly, about subjecting my humans to such treatment. How would they like it if I paraded them on the driveway . . . wet and naked . . . for all the world to see?

Love fall 4 thek9harperlee

I suspect that my human mommy read my mind, and then she did this to me.

Love fall 6 thek9harperlee

But as I began to air dry, I realized that things were looking up for me. Fall was knocking on the door, ready to rescue me from the dreaded driveway bath and its accompanying humiliation.

Love fall 7 thek9harperlee

I hear that my next bath will be courtesy of the PetSmart groomers. We call that “going to the spa.” I think a spa bath is far more my speed, don’t you? Thank you, fall. I love you!

14 Comments on “Why I Love Fall”

  1. fredrieka says:

    we now have snow no more colors just white and grey

  2. Mary says:

    Fall is a great time, and I’m sure people are just admiring you for ow great you look, even wet.

  3. those dreaded driveway baths!

  4. Ogee says:

    Did my pups ask you to write this? They feel exactly the same way about the annual end of public baths!

  5. Whee love Autumn too but the worst part is the darker evenings which mean Mummy gets home from work and it’s dark so whee don’t have any time to play outside with her on wheek days :/

    xxxx

  6. Cupcake says:

    OMGoodness, Miss HL! I could feel your humiliation right through the iPad. You are definitely more of a spa girl than a driveway girl.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  7. Well Miss Harper Lee, Mazie missed getting her fall bath because we went from beautiful fall weather to snow and below 20 degrees. She will have to endure a shower in Gram and Gramps stand up shower though. Hope you have a nice long beautiful fall!

  8. That sounds like fun. We get bathed in the bathtub. I think a spa day would rock! ☺

  9. Great pictures, enjoy your driveway free baths ahead.

  10. Emmadog says:

    That driveway bath thing just has to go, how awful. Mom won’t do that to us, she says a bath requires warm water no matter what! I feel fortunate.

  11. Aha, Miss Harper Lee, we greet again! We have been in such a Gamecock slump this season that we are now eagerly awaiting women’s basketball. We finally won one this afternoon in the Swamp and are now worried about you this evening. At least, your Tigers have fared better than our hapless Cocks this season and even the color of your coach’s hair hasn’t been a downer for you! We wish you well for the rest of the fall with your LSU boys and your bidding farewell to your driveway baths…there surely is a silver lining somewhere in this SEC nightmare…:)

  12. Oh you really did not look happy! But now you are nice and fluffy. 🙂

  13. Jan K says:

    Sheba goes to “the spa” as well. I’m not sure she loves it, but at least it is all done in private! 🙂

  14. tylersat99 says:

    Mica definitely prefers Petsmart spa, and to tell the truth I can never get all her hair covered with shampoo and then I’m never sure if I get it all out. Aspen has never had either experience:)


Leave a Reply

