Where in the World Was Harper Lee?

Where in the World 1 thek9harperlee

Things were a little odd around my house a couple of weeks ago. I couldn’t quite put my paw on it, but something was up. Mommy was spending a lot of time in the kitchen. At first she was making human food . . . not that interesting. And then she started making dog treats, which really got my attention.

Where in the World 2 thek9harperlee

She carefully packed all that human food and those yummy-smelling dog treats into this big red box. Wherever that big box was going, I wanted to go with it.

Where in the World 3 thek9harperlee

Then my travel crate appeared. I was definitely going somewhere . . . hopefully with that red box filled with dog treats.

Where in the World 4 thek9harperlee

My humans spent a lot of time studying this book. (Just for the record, my humans also looked at maps on the computer and on their phones. They’re not that old.) Hmmmm . . . why would my humans need to look at maps? Were we going somewhere new?

Where in the World 5 thek9harperlee

And then Mommy pulled out this little accessory. Could it really be true? Were we really going to the beach? Was I about to check an item off of my Golden Bucket List? I didn’t dare get my hopes up, but I must tell you that I was starting to get more than a little excited.

Where in the World 6 thek9harperlee

I was slightly less excited when, exactly one week before Thanksgiving, my humans gently nudged me prior to the break of dawn and whispered, “Miss Harper Lee, it’s time to wake up so we can start our excellent adventure.” It was still dark when we loaded my chariot. The chickens across the street weren’t even awake yet. That didn’t seem to bother my humans. We were off, and I was pretty happy that I have chauffeurs and I could get a little more sleep.

Where in the World 7 thek9harperlee

It seemed as if we had just pulled out of the driveway when my chariot stopped. My humans were oddly excited about something. “Wake up, Miss Harper Lee. We’re in Mississippi. You’ve never been to Mississippi before. Wake up so we can take a picture of you in front of the Welcome to Mississippi sign.” Naturally, I obliged. I knew from looking over my humans’ shoulders as they perused the road maps that Mississippi has beaches. Was this our destination? Apparently not, because after a few quick clicks of the camera and then several minutes of walking around while my humans said, over and over again, “Go potty, Miss Harper Lee. Go potty,” we were back in the chariot and back on the road.

Where in the World 9 thel9harperlee

Next stop: Alabama. Fortunately for me, the state welcome center was closed, so I got to sleep a few more miles before we reached the temporary welcome center. The nice welcome center lady invited me in, despite the fact that my daddy was wearing an LSU sweatshirt. Alabama and LSU are huge football rivals. I guess the welcome center lady was feeling charitable because Alabama beat LSU this year. Anyway, Mommy spotted this big mural and said, “Miss Harper Lee, sit here and practice your beach pose.” Yes! I knew I was going to the beach! I couldn’t help but smile as mommy snapped my picture. And then we got back into my chariot and continued to drive.

Where in the World 10 thek9harperlee

At our next stop, I saw this sign. I was in Florida . . . land of sun and sand. Miles and miles of beaches. When would I feel the sand between my toes? When would I frolic in the waves? Who else would be there? And just exactly where were we headed? Stay tuned . . .

28 Comments on “Where in the World Was Harper Lee?”

  1. fredrieka says:

    yes I had that happen it smelled so good and They did not share it is not fair

  2. Mary says:

    A road trip!! How fun, I can’t wait to see where you end up.

  3. Kuruk says:

    Oh Miss Lee, Miss Lee!!! I wuvwuvwuv the beach and now you know why! Woooohooowoooooooooooooo! xoxoxoxoxoxoxox, Ku

  4. Miss Harper, you live the life of O’Reilly! Where as here my dogs live the life of “Oh really?”

  5. Whoo hoo what a great adventure for you.

  6. dorysbackyard says:

    Wow….what a fun adventure!!!!
    Smileys!
    Dory, Jakey, Arty & Bilbo

  7. noahzbark says:

    Thank you Harper Lee for taking us along on your trip. I’m having fun seeing the sites through your pictures. Will look forward to the ‘to be continued’ pictures of our trip! xo

  8. Emmadog says:

    We were there until last week, but we didn’t see you 😦

  9. Ohhh Miss Harper Lee this is sounding like one big adventure! So glad to see you again 🙂
    Luvs
    Marty

  10. Ogee says:

    What a grand adventure! Lucky you!

  11. OMD! How EXCITING!!! We have missed you!
    Wally & Sammy

    • Oh, boys, I’ve missed you too. Between getting ready for my exciting adventure and then recovering from my exciting adventure, my mommy has been horribly neglectful of my oh-so-important blogging life. Hope you’re enjoying your summer and that Santa has something special planned for you!

  12. Oh Miss Harper Lee, we are SO EXCITED at Casa de Canterbury because we just KNOW you are headed to South Carolina to visit us!! Hip Hip Hooray!!! Come on over!!!

    • If only, Red Man. But I fear that the whining with the extra car time . . . I mean my humans’ whining, not mine . . . would have been more than I could take! But I have heard talk around my casa of a possible humans-only trip to see the Gamecocks take on the Tigers next football season. You might want to start stocking up on the bourbon and preparing for a purple and gold invasion. You’ve been warned. 😉

      • Oh Miss Harper Lee, please tell your humans that Slow and Pretty would LOVE to have a purple and gold invasion and will bring in bourbon by the buckets if they will only come up for the LSU game at Williams Brice next year!! Slow is a Tiger Fan every game now except for the one where they play the Cocks – I believe she will even forego her usual bleacher seats at Casa de Canterbury for the actual real Williams Brice seats if your mommy and daddy come to town!! Pretty will insist that they visit her Mast General Store on Main Street, and The Red Man will insist you come bringing the latest news and pictures of you!! 🙂
        A fine time will be had by all!!
        Geaux Tigers!!


Leave a Reply

