Tasty Tuesday: A New Man in My Life

A New Man 8 thek9harperlee

There’s a new man in my life. He’s a gingerbread man, and boy is he tasty. I met the little gingerbread man last night when my human mommy and I started our holiday baking . . . for my canine friends, of course.

A New Man 2 thek9harperlee

Mommy found the recipe for the gingerbread men at DogTreatKitchen.com. I totally approve of the ingredients:

  • 3 cups whole wheat flour
  • 2 tablespoons ground ginger
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/2 cup molasses
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/4 cup canola oil

A New Man 3 thek9harperlee

While I supervised, Mommy preheated the oven to 325 F. She whisked together the flour, ginger, cinnamon, and cloves in a large bowl. Then she used a sturdy spoon to combine the molasses, water, and canola oil in a smaller bowl before pouring the molasses mixture into the flour mixture and combining the two with a sturdy spoon.

A New Man 4 thek9harperlee

Next it was time to roll out the dough to about 1/2 inch thickness, cut the dough into little gingerbread man shapes, and place the gingerbread men on cookie sheets to bake. (The recipe says to spray the cookie sheets lightly with nonstick spray, but Mommy used parchment paper. Mommy also had to add a little extra water to form the dough before rolling out.)

A New Man 5 thek9harperlee

And into the oven those little gingerbread men went for 20 minutes . . .

A New Man 7 thek9harperlee

. . . which gave me just enough time for a quick nap.

A New Man 6 thek9harperlee

After baking, we let the little gingerbread men cool off before popping them into the freezer. We still have a bit more baking to do before we make treat gift bags for all my neighborhood friends.

A New Man 9 the k9harperlee

Mmmmmm . . . I think my friends are going to love the little gingerbread man just as much as I do.

Today, I’m participating in the Tasty Tuesday blog hop, hosted by Kol’s Notes and Sugar the Golden Retriever. You can click on the link below for more yummy recipes and tasty treats.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

29 Comments on “Tasty Tuesday: A New Man in My Life”

  1. Emmadog says:

    We did our baking yesterday. I so love to bake! What a great self rewarding behavior for us pups! We made peppermint cookies.

  2. FleaByte says:

    I love the tea towel! And those gingerbread men look GOOD.

  3. Kuruk says:

    You are a pawesome baker Miss Lee! Wooooowooooooooooo!

  4. dorysbackyard says:

    Wow..your new friend looks very tasty Harper Lee 🙂
    Smileys!
    Dory, Jakey, Arty & Bilbo

  5. That is the perfect choice for the new man in your life, Miss HL. Mom gave me only the head of a human recipe gingerbread man and he was AWESOME.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  6. I am your friend, right ?!?! BOL! My mom has all of those ingredients in her cabinet. I gotta go rush her into baking mode! Thanks so much!

    • I walk from door to door delivering my treats, so it might take me a little while to get to your house. 😉 But tell your mom that these are super easy to make, so I’m pretty sure that you’ll be getting a whole batch!

  7. Mmm those sure look tasty!
    I love your supervising face! Looks like you think that dough is missing something! Perhaps some golden fur? 😉

  8. MyDogLikes says:

    Harper Lee, these look tasty!! The best part about baking is the short naps followed by a great treat!

  9. Ohhhh I am sure we can talk Mom into making these for us! They look wonderful! Great post today Miss Harper Lee!
    Luvs
    Mazie, Abbe and Anne

    • Thank you Mazie, Abbe, and Anne! Mommy says the’re really simple (you’ll have to take her word for that because I slept through much of the prep). I can tell you that they taste super yum!

  10. Ogee says:

    Did you know that gingerbread cookies are also perfect for doggies that get car-sick? Extra bonus for your friends!

  11. Those look super yummy! We made a ginger cookie recently. They were a big hit!

  12. cafall says:

    What a neat idea! We love your towel!

    Monty and Harlow

  13. Hi Harper Lee! I see you have been busy! Can you ask your mom if its okay to use your picture on a blog post? I will give credit and link to your site. Check out my blog on brown noses…you make a great cover model!

    If this is a problem, please let me know. Merry Christmas to all!

    http://thedailygolden.com/2013/11/02/why-is-my-golden-retrievers-nose-turning-brown/

    • Of course it’s ok. 🙂 We have been busy. Mommy says that she likes Christmas but she’s really sort of ready for it to be over so that we can get back to a normal blogging schedule . . . and more importantly back to keeping up with good friends like you! Heading over to check out your blog right now!


Leave a Reply

