On the Second Day of Christmas: A Quick Trip to New Orleans

Second Day of Christmas 4 thek9harperlee

And on the second day of Christmas . . . my humans and I jumped into my chariot and took a quick drive to New Orleans to meet my Instagram friend @goldenluver, also known as Erika, who’s visiting the Big Easy from her home in Indiana. Naturally, our tour of New Orleans had to begin at my favorite watering hole, The District. We then headed to Grand Isle for a bite to eat and a very nice visit. Miss Erika has three sweet Golden Retrievers back home–Bogey, Bear, and Bagus. She was having major Golden Retriever withdrawal, which means that I got lots and lots of love and attention. Perfect for me!

Second Day of Christmas 2 thek9harperlee

Then we went on a short tour of New Orleans hotel lobbies. (My human mommy says that you absolutely must visit New Orleans for Christmas so that you can see the decorations in the hotel lobbies. They are truly stunning.) Our first stop was the Windsor Court Hotel. While Miss Erika and my mommy went into the lobby to enjoy the festive atmosphere, my human daddy and I waited outside in the beautiful courtyard. And that’s when the doorman uttered these magical words: “You can go inside. We’re completely dog friendly.” It was the poshest place I’ve ever been. Mommy was so stunned by the fact that I could go into the lobby, she totally cut off Santa’s head in my photo in front of the Christmas tree. But it was a day I’ll always remember . . . meeting yet another of my fabulous Instagram friends, showing her my favorite spots in one of my favorite cities, and walking into the Windsor Court Hotel to see the beautiful Christmas decorations. What a perfect Second Day of Christmas!

6 Comments on “On the Second Day of Christmas: A Quick Trip to New Orleans”

  1. Reblogged this on thek9harperlee and commented:

    Please pardon the reblog on this post. Apparently the WordPress elves are taking the day after Christmas off and this post didn’t go out to my email friends. Happy Second Day of Christmas!

  2. That is so cool! We will have to meet y’all down there one day! I didn’t know that they decorated the hotels for Christmas. What a grand adventure.

  3. cafall says:

    It’s always so exciting to find places that are dog friendly! Glad you had so much fun!

    Monty and Harlow

  4. Emmadog says:

    You’ve been doing lots of traveling and meeting other goldens lately. How fun!

  5. What a fabulous day for you and your Peeps!

  6. Sounds like a fabulous day!


Leave a Reply

