On the Third Day of Christmas: Rain, Rain, and More Rain

Third Day of Christmas 1 thek9harperlee

And on the third day of Christmas . . . it rained buckets. The weather humans said to expect more rain tomorrow and more of the same next weekend. So my human mommy decided that it was time for me to have my very first raincoat, and she set off for PetSmart to do some shopping.

Third Day of Christmas 2 thek9harperlee

A little while later, Mommy came home with three possibilities. This was my favorite, but there was just one small problem: Turns out I’m not an extra-large girl. I’m an extra-extra-large girl. The horror! The sizing must be off, right? Or maybe I’m a little bloated from the holidays, right? Actually, I’m not so much big as I am long. I know, I know, I know . . . that’s what they all say. But really, I am kind of an extra-long girl . . . or make that extra-extra-long girl. Unfortunately, there’s slim pickings at the store when it comes to garments for extra-extra-large girls, so Mommy turned to those Amazon people, who seem to have everything in every size. My new coat should be here next week. Hopefully, it will fit. Until then, maybe I’ll cut down slightly on the treats.

12 Comments on “On the Third Day of Christmas: Rain, Rain, and More Rain”

  1. Cupcake says:

    Being “long” gives us more of you to love love love! Can’t wait to see pictures of your new coat!

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  2. Kuruk says:

    Oh Miss Lee I think you are pawfect the way you are and Beauwooowoooootiful! Malamutes are long long toowowooowoooo, and I have to wear the biggest size raincoat toowoowooo.
    xoxoxox ❤ Ku
    p.s. Mama says she found our raincoats from DrsFosterSmith catalogue fur not furry much and we are furry happy with them.

  3. wagsahoy says:

    Oh, the pain of being extra long! 😉 You’re beautiful just the way you are! And I hope you love your rain coat as much as I love mine. *wags* – Gilligan from wagsahoy.com

  4. Miss Harper Lee I don’t think they make a lot of those coats for long dogs. Just like they don’t make most things in talls for Women. So don’t feel so bad 🙂

  5. cafall says:

    We’ve always had to order on-line, or make them jackets ourselves. Harlow thankfully is small enough to wear one of Sam’s “teenage” sweaters – it has helped out quite a bit!

    Monty and Harlow

  6. But Harper Lee, you got legs straight up to your chin (as the humans say). Madeline, our Christmas foster guest is pretty doggone (BOL) long, but she has the shortest legs and the biggest paws I’ve ever seen. She’s a thoroughly mixed breed, but her body is like a giant doxie. She’s a sweetheart and some forever home is going to be very lucky when she comes to live with them. Happy New Year, and I’m so glad you got to see the hotel lobby!

  7. Emmadog says:

    We just get wet and don’t care. Mom says she doesn’t mind the wet, it is the dirty belly and legs which a coat doesn’t help anyway. Can’t wait to see tour new coat!

  8. It’s been crummy weather here too. Hopefully you won’t need the coat by the time it comes.

  9. Oh Miss Harper Lee, please don’t tell me you are having more RAIN. We have had so many rainy days Slow and Pretty are afraid they are going to float away – and Granny Selma used to tell Slow that we got her leftover weather from Texas. Slow always relied on Granny Selma for weather forecasts in South Carolina – much more reliable than the weather humans.
    I wouldn’t worry about cutting back on the treats – your fur is beautiful – doesn’t have the first wrinkle in it!! 🙂
    Happy New Year!!

  10. They need a doggie “Long & Short” store! Nothing fits me either! It’s my short arms, long body, and deep chest. We are having another cold rainy day here too.

  11. Mumsy's Little Chancy Man says:

    Oh, sweet Miss Harper Lee we do think those sizes are off we have that happen here too. Hope the new coat from the Amazon people is a perfect fit. It has been rain, rain, rain and more rain here too, maybe we all will have sunshine soon. Happy New Year! Hugs and nose kisses

  12. It is a pretty rain coat. I always laugh at outdoor dog shows when it is pouring rain. Chessie coats look fabulous in the rain, but goldens are a different story. All the time grooming is lost in minutes…lol.


Leave a Reply

