Tasty Tuesday: A King Cake Fit for a Dog

King Cake 7 thek9harperlee

We’re pretty lucky where I live. Just as soon as the Christmas season ends, we start celebrating Mardi Gras. Technically, Mardi Gras is just one day–the Tuesday before Ash Wednesday, February 17 this year–but we like to celebrate every minute leading up to and including that day. (It can all seem a bit confusing. Click here if you’d like more information.) One of the best parts of Mardi Gras is the King Cake, but human King Cakes aren’t good for dogs. Bummer! So my human mommy searched the internet for a dog-friendly recipe and found one at DogChannel.com. Yea! Today we made our first ever Dog-Friendly King Cake. Yum! Here are the ingredients and instructions:

 King Cake 1 thek9harperlee

Ingredients:

2/3 cup bananas, mashed

1/2 butter, softened

3/4 cup water

3 large eggs

2 cups whole wheat flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon dried ginger

2 teaspoons cinnamon

**1/2 cup chopped pecans, chopped (**Mommy wasn’t sure about adding the pecans, so she turned to the internet and found a number of sites that said dogs shouldn’t eat pecans. We didn’t add the pecans to our batter.)

Nonfat plain yogurt mixed with honey and food coloring (in the traditional Mardi Gras colors–purple, gold, and green) for the frosting

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 350 F. Whisk the dry ingredients together in a large bowl and set aside. Beat together the bananas and butter in a medium bowl until creamy. Beat in water and then eggs one at a time. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and combine. (**At this point the recipe says to add the pecans; but based on Mommy’s research, we skipped this step.) Pour the batter into a prepared Bundt pan and bake for 35 minutes.

King Cake 2 thek9harperlee

When we poured the batter into the Bundt pan, it seemed a little pitiful. Mommy crossed her fingers (and I crossed my toes) and we both hoped that it would rise a bit while baking. It did.

King Cake 3 thek9harperlee

Before popping the cake into the oven, we added a small homemade dog treat. Human King Cakes traditionally are baked with a little plastic baby inside. Whoever gets the baby in his or her piece of cake is expected to purchase the next King Cake or throw the next party. Mommy and I thought it would be fun to put a dog-friendly spin on that tradition.

King Cake 5 thek9harperlee

While the cake baked, I helped with cleanup. This is absolutely and positively my very favorite part of Tasty Tuesday!

King Cake 6 thek9harperlee

After the King Cake cooked and cooled, Mommy mixed the icing. The recipe didn’t have specifics on amounts, so Mommy used about two tablespoons of yogurt, 2 teaspoons of honey, and a few drops of food coloring for each color. It seemed to work. As you can see, I was a little disappointed that I didn’t get a piece of King Cake after my dinner tonight. Mommy says we’re going to let the cake rest in the refrigerator overnight. Then tomorrow we’ll deliver pieces of King Cake to my canine friends. I can’t wait to see who gets the baby hidden dog treat . . . I also can’t wait to get my very own piece of Dog-Friendly King Cake. Happy Mardi Gras!

Today, I’m participating in the Tasty Tuesday blog hop, hosted by Kol’s Notes and Sugar the Golden Retriever. You can click on the link below for more yummy recipes and tasty treats.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

 

34 Comments on “Tasty Tuesday: A King Cake Fit for a Dog”

  1. Cupcake says:

    OMG, Miss HL. Your mom is amazing! She is a party animal. When the cake went into the pan, it looked fine. YOU were the one who looked pitiful. I totally get that. Waiting for the cake to bake is endless. Waiting for tomorrow is even more endless!! Good luck.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    • That oven time always seems like an eternity. I’ll never understand the odd obsession that humans have with cooking food. Trust me, I would have been quite happy to lick all the batter out of the bowl. 🙂

  2. Laissez les bons temps rouler! Greatest dog recipe for Mardi Gras EVER!! Thanks so much!!

  3. Laissez les bons temps rouler! What a fantastic King Cake!!!! Your Mama outdid herself!!! Love your Mardi Gras floof too Miss Harper Lee!

  4. Ogee says:

    Oh…I miss my King Cake! I hope you will share. 🙂

  5. fozziemum says:

    Oh goodness me Miss Harper Lee that is one delish looking cake! and I bet it tastes super! you do look a tad mournful at not having a bite though haahaah 🙂 loves Fozziemum xxx

  6. OMD! That looks DELICIOUS!! Mom learnt about King Cakes from one of the baking shows she watches, she was pretty excited that she knew what you were referring to before we even got to the explanation.
    Now don’t go finishing that cake off in one sitting Miss HL 😉
    Wally & Sammy

    • Mommy totally loves human King Cake, mostly because of the tradition and the fact that we only have King Cake for such a short time each season. Now that I’ve finally tasted my own version of King Cake, I understand her devotion to it. And don’t worry, Mommy would never ever allow me to eat the whole King Cake in one sitting . . . darn it. 😉

  7. Rosy Rue says:

    How absolutely fab ! I would love to start a tradition something like that in my house. But of course it would be Princess Cake with Pink frosting ! RosyPoodleKisses!

    • I think a Princess Cake tradition sounds like an absolutely grand idea. You can use this same recipe. Just cover the baked cake with pink icing . . . and invite me for the Princess Party!

  8. You are SOOO lucky! I wish my mama would make me a doggie version King Cake too. Wow!!! SO lucky. I bet it tasted delish

  9. Emmadog says:

    Love the way the frosting looks like a jester hat!

  10. Mags Corner says:

    Oh, my! That cake looks amazingly delicious! We hope you are really enjoying it sweetie. It is a decorated really nice too you have a talented and thoughtful mom sweet Harper Lee. Hugs and nose kisses

  11. wow that looks nummy I love how your mom put a dog treat in it! your gang is going to enjoy it.

  12. That looks really really tasty! My mom is glad you questioned the pecans in the recipe, she was a little worried when she saw them in the photo because she had always heard that nuts are not so good for us dogs!

    • We read that nuts are high in fat and that can cause problems for dogs. We don’t want problems. 😉 I think there’s an important lesson there: Always check ingredients that you question to make sure that they are ok for your precious puppies to eat.

  13. carraig1 says:

    Ooh, I hope you’re sharing!

    • The best thing about making yummy treats is sharing those yummy treats with your friends, and my dog friends get super excited when they see my mommy at the door with a package for them!

  14. That came out great and looks super yummy. Love the colored icing!

  15. cafall says:

    Oh my gosh – that cake looks fabulous! You’ll have to let us know how the pups liked it.

    Monty and Harlow
    http://howsamseesit.blogspot.com/

  16. Jan K says:

    What a fun and yummy looking tradition!

  17. […] Happy Fat Tuesday! Today Chef Gambler will be making King Cake. He would like to thank his buddy Miss Harper Lee for making this yummy cake in January and was happy she shared her recipe with us all. You can view Miss Lee’s fun post and recipe here. […]


Leave a Reply

