Six by Six?

Six by Six 1 thek9harperlee

In a little less than two months, I will be six years old. I think you can safely call me a middle-aged Golden Retriever now. When my human mommy looks into my eyes, she notices how white my lashes have gotten. When she kisses my ever-lightening nose, she sees how white my muzzle is. And as we enjoy our daily walks, she can’t help but look at the white hairs that are appearing along the ridge of my back. Time is passing far too quickly. I’ve done a lot in my five-plus years, but there’s still something big that I have yet to accomplish.

Six by Six 6 thek9harperlee

I have yet to learn a trick. That’s right, friends. I don’t know the first trick. Can’t shake. Can’t roll over. Can’t spin. Can’t do a high five. I can speak, but that’s usually when no one wants me to speak. You’ve heard of a One Trick Pony? Well, I’m a No Trick Pony.

Six by Six 2 thek9harperlee

Oh, I know all of my obedience commands. I ought to; I’ve been going to school since I was six months old. But when it comes to tricks, I’ve never shown any interest . . . as in no interest at all.

Six by Six 3 thek9harperlee

So my human mommy (in her infinite wisdom) has decided that I should attempt to learn six tricks by my sixth birthday. We have plenty of time to decide on which tricks to tackle and then to learn one per week leading up to the big day. Personally, I’d be happy just going out for a nice birthday dinner or enjoying a PetSmart shopping spree. But I have a feeling that I’m going to have to humor the human on this one.

What do you think, friends? Will Mommy be able to teach a middle-aged dog some new tricks?

And what tricks do you think I should learn?

34 Comments on “Six by Six?”

  1. Ogee says:

    You are very capable of learning tricks! We call them “school” and they get done before anything really good happens (like meals!) Twirl, all-the-way around, go-through (legs), shake, speak, hide and seek…active, challenged minds make for happy, tired-out doggies! Maybe you can teach Mommy a couple too. “Ice-Cream: Fetch!”

    • Oh, trust me, I have my humans totally and completely trained. They obey my every command and entertain me with tricks all the time. 😉 I do know the go-through-the-legs trick. We always have to warn our guests about that one!

  2. Emmadog says:

    Good luck with your learning tricks. We don’t do many here. My sister Katie was born white, so even at 12 she looks the same. I have lots of white fur too, so I don’t turn color either.

  3. Don’t feel bad! About the only “trick” I know is when Mom asks “What does a gentleman do?” and I SIT! BOL! Oh and I give my paw, big whoop! Anyway, Mom reviewed a book some time back that is PAWFECT for you to learn tricks from! It’s called “The Best Dog Tricks On The Planet” and here is the link to Mom’s review. http://dakotasden.net/2014/01/13/10-reasons-why-i-must-use-the-best-dog-tricks-on-the-planet-by-babette-haggerty/ Barks and licks and love, Dakota

    • Mommy remembers that review. We even fessed up to not knowing any tricks. 😉 We need to order that book now and have it delivered overnight if I’m going to master six tricks by my birthday!

  4. dashlilly says:

    Oh Harper Lee you are so pretty. And our mom does the same thing when she looks at us because the years go so fast. I am seven and my sister is six. Good luck learning tricks. Actually, we don’t know any either… we’ve learned some but we forget them pretty easily! your doodle friend Dash

  5. Is six middle aged? That makes me middle-aged! Suddenly, I feel old.
    I know a few tricks, but I am naturally a bit of a trickster. I can do lots of jumping things, but I still don’t know how to roll over. I think “shake” will be an easy one for you to learn.

  6. oh yes she can teach you some new tricks, have fun.

  7. When you are gorgeous, we think that should be enough. If you must please them (since your a Golden, we know you must) you can learn six with no problem. Good luck! Mom has been making me learn stuff lately and I’m 7!! WTD?

  8. Will and Eko says:

    I personally love the “touch of gray” look. I think it makes pups look regal. And new tricks keep a pup young. I think you will nail it.

    • Judging from all my gray, I think I’ve been touched by a pretty big hand! I appreciate the confidence in my ability to nail the tricks. I’ll do my very, very best not to let you down.

  9. Robin says:

    You look great! I think you should go for learning the 6 tricks. Learning new things helps our brains stay strong and healthy. I’ve always been a fan of dogs that do high-5s and handshakes. Perhaps you could try those 🙂

  10. Sage says:

    Haha, MHL. Do you know I don’t know any of those tricks either? I finally decided to ‘catch’ after 5 years. Everyone wants me to ‘shake’, but touching my feet is not something I like. Mom thinks I should do better too–maybe we should go to school together!

  11. I bet you will be great at learning tricks! Brown dawgs know precious few tricks themselves. They are excited to see what you come up with!

    • I have to say that I’m really surprised at the number of my doggy friends who don’t do tricks. I thought I was the only one. If Mommy had known this, she might not have gotten such a crazy idea. 😉

  12. When you look that good you don’t need tricks! But learning tricks frequently means getting treats, so it’s always worth a shot.

  13. Ranger says:

    I know my commands and will execute dem when and if I feel like it. My best move is DOWN. Other dan dat….. I don’t do any tricks. What’s da point? Mom doesn’t do any tricks either.
    Wags,
    Ranger

  14. cafall says:

    Good luck! I’m sure you can do it, you are a smart girl!

    Monty and Harlow

  15. Jan K says:

    Oh, that sounds like a fun goal to strive for! We were never big on teaching tricks either, but now I’ve been wanting to with Luke. Of course, he’s much younger than you, Miss Lee, but I believe that you can teach an old dog new tricks…..not that 6 is that old!!

  16. Louie has put a great deal of thought into this. He would like you to put on your tutu (he knows you have one) and ride a unicycle on a high wire! That would be exciting!

  17. Miss Harper Lee, none of Mom’s furkids have ever done tricks either. Mom doesn’t mind. She says that is their choice 🙂


Leave a Reply

