Tasty Tuesday: Tuna Treats for Trick Training

Tuna Treats 3 thek9harperlee

Wow. That title sure is a tongue twister. Just trying to say it was a trick. And speaking of tricks . . . a little more than a week ago, I wrote a post called “Six by Six?” I confessed that I do not know any tricks, revealed my human mommy’s silly plan for me learn six tricks by my sixth birthday (which is next month), and asked for your input on what tricks I should learn. I loved your comments, and I was very surprised to learn that most of my four-legged friends don’t do any tricks either. I thought for sure that my mommy would give up on this ridiculous trick idea after she saw that, but no such luck. It appears that we are forging ahead with the trick lessons.

Tuna Treats 1 thek9harperlee

Naturally, we had to find a tasty treat recipe for these trick lessons. You didn’t honestly think I’d fall for this crazy plan without the promise of treats, did you? So Mommy turned to The Organic Dog Biscuit Cookbook from the Bubba Rose Biscuit Company and zeroed in on a recipe for Tuna Snackers, billed as “high-protein, low-fat, allergy-friendly, and filled with beneficial omegas.” This trick-learning thing could require a lot of treats, so it was important to find something that is low-fat. Mommy liked the limited ingredients and simple preparation.

Tuna Treats 2 thek9harperlee

I was pretty excited about the tuna and more than pleased to clean the little cans before they went into the recycling bin. I supervised while Mommy combined 1-1/2 cups of oat flour, 1-1/2 cups of brown rice flour, 1/4 cup of oat bran, 6 ounces of albacore tuna in water, 1 egg, and enough water to form a dough ball (a little more than 1/2 cup added slowly).

Tuna Treats 4 thek9harperlee

The recipe says to roll the dough on a lightly floured surface to about 1/4 inch thickness and then cut into shapes. Since we’ll be using these tuna treats for trick training, Mommy simply used a knife to cut the rolled out dough into little squares.

Tuna Treats 5 thek9harperlee

Then the treat squares went onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper and into an oven preheated to 350 F to bake for 22 minutes. Friends, for the life of me I will never ever understand this whole baking step. This just seems like such a total waste of time to me. I am more than happy to eat my treats before they go into the oven, but Mommy absolutely insists on baking them. Whatever.

Tuna Treats 6 thek9harperlee

Would you just look at all the Tuna Snackers this recipe made. We’ve put some in the refrigerator and the rest in the freezer.  I’m pretty sure that one batch will get me through mastering all six tricks. And about those tricks . . . I’ve settled on my six: bow, shake, high five, sit up, speak, and–first up–spin . . . or maybe in keeping with the Tasty Tuesday T theme we should call that twirl!

Today, I’m participating in the Tasty Tuesday blog hop, hosted by Kol’s Notes and Sugar the Golden Retriever. You can click on the link below for more yummy recipes and tasty treats.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

25 Comments on “Tasty Tuesday: Tuna Treats for Trick Training”

  1. Those tuna snackers look great

  2. WAIT??!!!! You’re named Harper Lee??!!!! I named one of my sons Atticus!!!! Did you know that Harper Lee’s only other novel- about Scout all grown up eeeehh!!!- is scheduled to be put to print?! Now I am even more excited that you swung by my blog 🙂

    • Thanks so much for the visit, and I absolutely love that you named your son Atticus. I’m so excited about the real Harper Lee’s new novel, too. I used to say that she was just one novel ahead of me. Now I guess I’ll have to change that to two!

  3. Also? Those treats sound awesome! Just might have to make ’em for my 2 furry friends.

  4. Marty the Manx says:

    TUNA TREATS?????? We are in at this house Miss Harper Lee!!!!! Good luck with the tricks!
    Luvs
    Marty

  5. PigLove says:

    OMP! These look *almost* as good as you beautiful. I’ll take one or a dozen – snorts. XOXO – Bacon

  6. Cupcake says:

    Tuna! Yum! Good luck with your trick list, Miss HL. I know all of those tricks except for bow. And my twirl is on 2 legs, so Mom calls it “dance.” I also know down and stay and roll over and come and find it and drop it and touch. I hope we get to see videos of you learning.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    • Whoa, Cupcake. Now you’ve done it. Mommy read the list of list of all the amazing tricks you know and she’s decided that my six little simple tricks may not be enough. And then she read that part about you wanting to see videos of me learning my little simple tricks and she realized that perhaps there’s one great big trick that she needs to learn!

  7. fredrieka says:

    I do anything for lickity lick treats

  8. OH YUM, YUM, YUUUUUM!!!!!!!!!! We’d learn a trick or two for some of those!
    Wally & Sammy

    • Here’s the real trick, boys. Act like you’re having trouble learning the trick. Then the humans will have to work with you more and give you more treats. Shhhhh . . . don’t tell your mom I told you that. 😉

  9. cafall says:

    We are going to have to try those!

    Monty and Harlow

  10. Jan K says:

    These treats sound great, we might have to make some of these for Luke’s training!

  11. Those look like tasty treats.


Leave a Reply

