A Little Housekeeping with Harper Lee

Housekeeping 3 thek9harperlee

It’s time for a little housekeeping. Oh, goodness no, not that kind of housekeeping. I have a human who does that sort of thing for me. I call her Mommy. She’s constantly complaining about all the hair she has to pick up. Should I tell Daddy that he sheds too much? Probably not. No, back to my kind of housekeeping–catching you up on what’s going on in my life, which beats cleaning toilets any day.

Shopping Around the World

Photo from Bacon’s Blog

Shopping Around the World Reminder

Each time I do a Shopping Around the World blog post, at least one or two of my friends will say, “I wish I had known about this” or “I completely forgot about that.” Well, it’s time to mark your calendars for the next Shopping Around the World day: Friday, February 27. My friends Bacon and Fozzie host this international event. Everyone purchases the same items and we all compare prices from around the world. This month is “Random Choices Month” and these are the items:

  • Random condiment of your choice
  • Random frozen meal of your choice
  • Random dessert/something sweet of your choice
  • Random fruit of your choice
  • Random item of your choice

For more details, click here to connect with Bacon’s Shopping Around the World reminder post, and see you February 27.

Housekeeping 7 thek9harperlee

Mardi Gras Madness

This past Sunday, I enjoyed a little Mardi Gras madness at the Mystic Krewe of Mutts parade in downtown Baton Rouge . . . and I got to meet the very handsome Beauregard, also known to the Instagram world as @goldenbeauregard. Beau’s mom brought frozen ice balls, which were tons of fun, and I might have had a sip or two of beer. I gave Beau a kiss . . . or two . . . or three, and he slimed my head. It was total doggy bliss. Mardi Gras comes to a screeching halt this coming Tuesday and then it’s time to repent for Lent. I wonder if we have time to make one last tasty Doggy King Cake?

Housekeeping 1 thek9harperlee

Squirrel Obsession

I have a very, very good excuse for being slightly behind on reading your blogs and responding to your kind comments. I am absolutely and completely totally squirrel obsessed. Those pesky little creatures have been all over my holly tree, eating the pretty red berries and tormenting me daily. I have spent hours upon hours sitting under the holly tree and observing. They nibble for a while, and then they race across the roof, over the shed, and into the big oak tree. One day, one of those little fellas is going to slip and end up on the ground, and then . . . and then . . .  well, frankly I have no idea what I’ll do.

Housekeeping 4 thek9harperlee

Six by Six Update

Last month, I set a goal for myself: learn six tricks by the time I turn six years old in mid-March. I am happy to report that I am well on my way to meeting that goal (with a little help from the tuna treats that Mommy made to encourage my trick training). I have totally mastered spin, as you can see from the photo above. The last two days, I was brilliant at bow, and then today I tricked Mommy into thinking I’d forgotten that one. I don’t want to make this trick-learning thing too easy on her, and the more I “struggle,” the more tuna treats I get. There’s a method to my madness.

Housekeeping 5 thek9harperlee

Today we worked on sit up, which I like to call hover because I barely lift my front feet off of the ground and seem to be hovering rather than actually sitting up.

Housekeeping 6 thek9harperlee

Now if only Mommy can work on her photography skills so that she can get my entire body in the shot when I sit up. And maybe she can learn how to take and post videos by the time I turn six years old so that you can see me in action as I do my six by six. That would really be a trick. Perhaps her training needs to start soon.

Housekeeping 2 thek9harperlee

 Curling Up with a Good Book

And finally, I would like to thank my Sheltie friend Dakota (of Dakota’s Den fame) and his sweet mom for sending a copy of Fuzzy Logic by Susan C. Daffron to my mommy. Fuzzy Logic is the story of librarian Jan Carpenter who travels to her mother’s latest wedding (is it the sixth or seventh?) and reconnects with Michael Lawson, the obnoxious little neighbor boy who’s all grown up and pretty good-looking. Of course, dogs play a major role in this romantic comedy. (You can click here to read the full review on Dakota’s blog.) I entered my mommy in the drawing for one of two copies of Fuzzy Logic, and I won. Interestingly, the other winner was also from Louisiana–M.K. Clinton whose blog is called Barking from the Bayou. I think it just might be time to curl up with Mommy and dive into Fuzzy Logic. That actual housekeeping stuff can wait for another day.

30 Comments on “A Little Housekeeping with Harper Lee”

  1. You’ve been a busy girl, I am going to try your kings cake recipe for next tasty tuesday. Good job on your tricks you are doing a great job. Cute VD bandanna.

    • You will love the cake, and it’s super easy! I’m pretty sure we’ll use that recipe to make my birthday cake this year. The bandanna was a gift from my retriever friends in Florida. I think it make me look pretty flashy when I’m doing my tricks. 😉

  2. Marty the Manx says:

    You have been a very busy lady Miss Harper Lee 🙂 I get to have my King Cake Friday when we are having a pre-Fat Tuesday celebration 🙂 Planning on bringing some home for the Kids. Love all your photos sweet lady.
    Marty’s Mom

    • Mommy’s planning on getting her last King Cake fix this weekend. She looked for a single slice in the grocery store today, but couldn’t find one . . . and she didn’t trust herself not to eat an entire cake if she bought a whole one! Enjoy your celebration!

  3. Kuruk says:

    Oh Miss Lee, don’t you look just oh-so-adorable in your hearts bandana! ❤ ❤ ❤ Will you be my Valentine? ❤ ❤ ❤

    • Oh my dear, sweet Ku. I certainly did not mean to leave you hanging for so long (Mommy only lets me use the computer when she can watch), but my answer is yes, yes, yes . . . if you’ll still have me!

  4. Well no wonder you’re behind in your blogging, just look at how busy you’ve been!! So tell us, is this thing your having with Beau serious??
    Wally & Sammy

  5. Cupcake says:

    Your trick work is coming along brilliantly, Miss HL. You’ve mastered the “struggling” part, so that’s good (and delicious). Mom says not to be so snarky about the sit-up photos. She used to take the same sloppy shots of me. She says when YOU get better at it, your mom will be able to back up and get all of you in. So, once again it’s up to us doggies to make it happen….. Sheesh. What would our humans do without us!?

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  6. fozziemum says:

    Miss Lee you have had a full plate indeed…and kisses and boys and squirrels and cake..and treats and tricks!!! goodness me….tell mum all she has to di is get her videos of you on her mobile phone upload them to youtubes then copy the embed code and upload on your bloggie..easy…time to teach MUM new tricks 🙂 loves Fozziemum xx

  7. Lots going in with you. Didn’t you say that you had hip issues? I imagine sit-up is a bit harder for you than the average dog. Good job learning all of your tricks and getting all the tuna treats…looks like you are also doing well training your humans. 🙂

    • Thank you so much for pointing out that sitting up might not be the best trick to tackle. We’ve put that one on hold until we get the ok from the physical therapist. Uh oh, I guess that means we have to move on to “shake.” Yikes!

      • LOL if you mean shake paws that was the easiest to teach the Chessies who normally have zero patience for tricks. 🙂 Hopefully you will be clear to learn sit up. 🙂

      • Turns out we won’t being doing sit up as one of our tricks. Miss Jennifer at rehab explained that dog’s support 60% of their weight with their front legs, so sitting up isn’t good for dogs with hip problems. Thank you so much for encouraging us to check on this. So yes, we move on to shaking paws. Wish us luck!

      • She can do it. If Storm can any dog can…lol. I am glad you checked on the sit-up.

  8. PigLove says:

    aaww beautiful! You are so awesome to think of me and Fozzie on shopping day. It is so much fun! Now with all of the busy you have been lately, you need a rest. Maybe a massage and a cold drink. I have just the hooves to help 🙂 XOXO – Bacon

  9. Ogee says:

    Good work you two! We knew you could master those tricks!

  10. Does Harper Lee like to be read loud to? The “other” Harper Lee has a “new” (original) book out.

    • It’s so funny that you should ask that. Harper Lee is not a huge fan of being read to, which makes her mommy–who loves to read aloud–very sad. Looking forward to reading the real Harper Lee’s “new” novel. When the announcement was made, we received quite a few tweets . . . mostly just people commenting to each other that thek9harperlee was the only Harper Lee they could find. 😉

  11. cafall says:

    I need to remember to make those tuna treats for Harlow’s agility. I’m always looking for new treats for her.

    Monty and Harlow


Leave a Reply

