Playtime in My ‘Hood

Time to Play 6 thek9harperlee

I live in an area of New Orleans called the Irish Channel, and I love it! We’re within walking distance of the Garden District–which means lots of strolls past lots and lots of beautiful homes–and Magazine Street runs along the edge of my neighborhood–which means plenty of window shopping on our little outings. There are even a few dog-friendly dining and imbibing establishments . . . nice detours for hungry and thirsty humans and pups. I cannot wait to share my neighborhood with you.

Time to Play 1 thek9harperlee

Today my sister, Tallulah, and I are starting your Irish Channel tour with a little playtime in our neighborhood park.

Time to Play 5 thek9harperlee

Burke Park is operated by the New Orleans Recreation Development Commission, and it’s tons of fun.

Time to Play 4 thek9harperlee

In 2010, the Irish Channel Neighborhood Association worked with the Marriott group of New Orleans to renovate and rejuvenate our little playground. They painted these concrete steps that my sister and I had so much fun playing (and posing) on . . .

Time to Play 7 thek9harperlee

. . . and they assembled the playground set that gave us such a super view of our fabulous little oasis.

Time to Play 2 thek9harperlee

As much as we enjoyed the colorful steps and the playground set and the hills and all the incredible smells, Tallulah and I had the most fun playing on the fire truck. It reminded us of the real trucks at the neighborhood fire station we visit on our walks. I promise to take you there one day. But I digress. Back to the pretend fire truck in the park.

Time to Play 3 thek9harperlee

Silly Tallulah offered to drive home. We had to explain to her that the fire truck isn’t actually real, and even if it were she is far too young to drive. We did promise, however, that we’ll visit the park again very, very soon. I can’t wait!

24 Comments on “Playtime in My ‘Hood”

  1. Ogee says:

    I’m looking forward to seeing the rest of the neighborhood! Miss Harper Lee…how sugar-faced you have become since we last saw you! It becomes you. 🙂

    • Tallulah should be known as the Sugar Plum Fairy. She’s sprinkled sugar all over my face . . . and more than a little in Mommy’s hair, but Mommy has someone cover that up for her. 😉

  2. Your little park is adorable. I think it will be fun seeing your new neighborhood, Miss HL. Especially the firehouse! And the dog friendly restaurants!

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    • So happy you enjoyed our park, Cupcake. It’s a colorful little oasis. The weather’s a little cool right now, so the visits to the dog-friendly restaurants may have to wait a while, but we’ll get there!

  3. Your little sister is getting pretty big! I know my little sis got bigger than I am. Crazy!

    • Tallulah and I stopped in at the vet on one of our walks last weekend for a little weigh in. (We brought our humans with us.) I’m maintaining my svelte 61.5 pounds, while Tallulah continues to grow at 56 pounds. There’s a very good chance she’ll pass me up. She’s nine months old today. 😉

  4. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

    Look at you two cuties!

  5. Oh man, Tallulah is not such a “little” sister anymore!

  6. What a fun place to live and play! Y’all look adorable on the playground equipment. ☺

  7. Levine says:

    Happy New Year to all of you from all of us! We look forward to your adventures in the new year!

  8. Jan K says:

    We just love seeing your ‘hood, Miss Lee, and seeing you and your sister enjoying it!

  9. Piglove says:

    There you are my beautiful friends!! I’ve missed ya’ll. Hogs and snout kisses. XOXO – Bacon

  10. tylersat99 says:

    Harper Lee, it’s just so much fun having you back, and with your baby sister.We will very much enjoy “seeing your hood” with you 🙂

    • It’s so good to be back! Mommy had no idea how time-consuming a puppy can be because I’ve always been so perfect, but she’s getting back into the blog assisting mode . . . slowly but surely!

  11. What a fun park! Love the colorful playground stuff.

  12. now that’s a whole lot of fun going on. Love the bright colors of the playground.


Leave a Reply

