HL Does NOLA from A to Z: B is for BOULIGNY

B1 thek9harperlee

B is for Bouligny Tavern, an Uptown Magazine Street establishment where my humans like to enjoy a tasty glass of wine (or two) with some creative small plates. And, thanks to a cozy side courtyard, I get to join them on pretty evenings. Inside the century-old former residence is a comfortable lounge area–complete with a couch, upholstered chairs, and wood paneling that make you feel like you’re in your best friend’s swanky living room. (Or so they tell me. I’m a dog, so I’ve never been inside Bouligny.) Best of all, the bartenders spin actual vinyl records. How long has it been since you’ve heard that sound? The tavern is run by the same fine people who operate Lilette, one of the top-rated restaurants in New Orleans, just next door.

B3 thek9harperlee

Bouligny Tavern is named for the Uptown New Orleans neighborhood that it calls home. When Louis Bouligny purchased a large area of plantation land in 1829, he asked Charles Zimple, an engineer and cartographer, to transform that land into a neighborhood. After Zimple laid out the streets, Pierre-Benjamin Buisson, who had served in Emperor Napoleon Bonaparte’s army, named those streets. Buisson chose names that would honor the French emperor and his important battles. So, as you stroll through the neighborhood that surrounds Bouligny Tavern, you’ll see streets with names like Marengo, Jena, and Milan. Napoleon Avenue divides East Bouligny from West Bouligny.

B2 thek9harperlee

I hope that one day soon you’ll get to enjoy a glass of wine (or two) at Bouligny Tavern while listening to a little Miles Davis on the turntable. And I just might see you in the courtyard or strolling down the beautiful Bouligny streets in Uptown New Orleans. Cheers!

B

This post is part of the Blogging from A to Z  Challenge. Please click here for a link to the challenge homepage and a list of  the bloggers who are participating.  The A to Z Challenge takes a break on Sundays, but I’ll be back on Monday to introduce you to the C stop on our New Orleans tour. I wonder what it will be?

19 Comments on “HL Does NOLA from A to Z: B is for BOULIGNY”

  1. dashlilly says:

    Loving this so far!! Will have to visit New Orleans again with your suggestions!!

  2. Miss Harper Lee continues to be her usual gorgeous self, but where is the prickly Miss Tallulah?? 🙂

  3. I am so glad that you committed to the challenge. I look forward to all of the Cajun French words! LOL!

  4. Besides having a fabulous name, Harper Lee is beautiful. Also reading about her escapades may mean I need to write another book with New Orleans as the setting. I think I will learn a lot from your posts. I’m visiting all the dog sites on the A to Z challenge in my quest to visit all the participants because a Sunday full of dogs is heavenly. Oh, I shared your posts with some of my retriever and NoLa loving friends.
    @ScarlettBraden from
    Frankly Scarlett

    • Thank you! I can’t imagine anything more delightful than spending a Sunday reading dog blogs . . . unless of course it’s followed by a Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, and Saturday doing the same. 😉

  5. OMD, I am learning so much! I have heard of this most FABulous place, butts never all the details. And I must say, you are lookin’ most FABulous too my furiend! How do you do it?? I thinks you should be in the NOLA magazine or somethings!
    Kisses,
    Ruby ♥

    • Oh, Ruby, with my little sister constantly grabbing at my ears and wrestling me to the ground, it gets harder and harder to look FABulous . . . and easier and easier to spend time in taverns like Bouligny!

  6. Piglove says:

    Oh beautiful that is awesome. And vinyl records? Dad got this glazed look in his eyes about that. Hilarious. XOXO – Bacon

  7. Emmadog says:

    I never suspected you as a dog who would be hanging out at a tavern, LOL!

  8. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

    Miss Harper Lee I’m completely enjoying the tour of New Orleans with you for the A to Z Challenge!


Leave a Reply

