HL Does NOLA from A to Z: ZEPHYR FIELD

Z2 thek9harperlee

Z is for Zephyr Field. While technically not located in New Orleans (it’s in Metairie, a suburb near New Orleans), the stadium is home to the New Orleans Zephyrs baseball team, a Triple A affiliate of the major league Miami Marlins . . . so I’ve decided that it counts on our tour of the Big Easy (and Z seems like an okay place to start breaking the rules 😉 ). The 10,000-seat baseball stadium opened in 1997 and until recently served only as a site for baseball, including Zephyrs games and some college match-ups. But earlier this month the band Mumford & Sons played a successful concert at the ballpark, so it seems that Zephyr Field might be expanding its horizons in the future. (I could have said that the park will be pinch-hitting as a concert venue . . . but I decided not to push my luck.)

Z1 thek9harperlee

Zephyr Field is even dog friendly . . . at least one day out of the year. The Zephyrs hosted Bark in the Park at a mid-April game. The first 500 fans received dog bowls. Unfortunately, my humans had human commitments that day, so I didn’t get to attend. I really need to work on getting my driver’s licence so I don’t have to count on them to take me places.

Z3 thek9harperlee

There’s a pretty good chance that the Zephyrs won’t be the Zephyrs this time next year and that the ballpark will have a new name too. The Zephyrs, who moved to New Orleans from Denver almost 25 years ago, were named for a train that connected Denver to Chicago. (It’s interesting that The Zephyr rollercoaster was one of the main attractions at the old Pontchartrain Beach Amusement Park in New Orleans, but that is not the origin of the baseball team’s present name.) There’s currently a contest to rename the team. If you have a good idea, click here. You could win some lovely prizes!

Z

Speaking of prizes, this is the final day of my Blogging from A to Z Challenge, and I wish I had prizes for everyone who stuck with me throughout the journey . . . whether you stopped by just one day or checked in all 26. I hope you learned a little something about the city of New Orleans, my beautiful hometown.

GBGV-Emma-on-the-path

Photo from My GBGV Life

As far as I know, there isn’t a Reader of the Year Award associated with the Blogging from A to Z Challenge, but if there were my friend Emma would definitely go home with the trophy. Emma commented on every single post in my journey through the alphabet and throughout the Big Easy. Thank you oh so very much, Emma. I am so happy to count you as one of my truly amazing blogging friends. Please drop by Emma’s beautiful, informative, entertaining, and totally sweet blog by clicking here. You’ll love her . . . I promise.

18 Comments on “HL Does NOLA from A to Z: ZEPHYR FIELD”

  1. Cupcake says:

    We clicked on the team name link, but we couldn’t name the team The Cupcakes because there was no significance to New Orleans. Rats! We were all in for that name. Congratulations to Emma. What a great commenter!

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    • Well we do like our food in New Orleans, so maybe the Cupcakes would work . . . and you would be a fabulous mascot. Plus, I’m pretty sure that you’d make Bark in the Park an every day thing. Thanks so much for hanging with us through the alphabet, and for keeping us going with your wonderful comments. Kisses!

  2. dashlilly says:

    This was an excellent series! So interesting. Next time I get to visit New Orleans, Dash and Lilly will be coming with me thanks to your tips for places to visit!

    • Thank you so very much. It thrills me to know that you enjoyed the series, and I’m even happier that Dash and Lilly will be joining you in New Orleans. It really is a great dog-friendly town. April and October tend to be our prettiest months, but anything other than summer (which in our case is May through the end of September) is nice. Let me know when you plan to visit. My humans and I would love to meet you and to answer any questions you might have!

  3. tylersat99 says:

    We really enjoy you teaching us about New Orleans. We read the first one and enjoyed it very much. Then things got very hectic, however i have save all of then to read and enjoy. I really enjoy New Orleans:)

    • I am so happy to hear that you enjoy New Orleans. It has its challenges, but it really is a great city, unlike any other, thanks to the people, food, music, and more. P.S. Totally understand about things getting hectic. We got behind on responding to comments way back at the letter I, so today and tomorrow are our catch-up days. 🙂

  4. u28ajb says:

    What a great, entertaining and informative journey around New Orleans, would love to visit some day. Well Done HL (and your human mommy too !)

    • I’m so happy that you enjoyed your “tour” and I hope you get to make a real-life visit very soon. Summer is not the best time to travel to New Orleans . . . but I probably didn’t have to tell you that. 😉 Anything between October and April is great, and the city is beautiful for Christmas.

  5. Emmadog says:

    Oh thank you! You are so sweet! It was so fun following the alphabet posts with such fun themes! Mom only knows the Zephyr as a method of transportation, so this was new info for us! Congratulations on a job well done!

    • Thank you so much, Emma. Your faithful comments really kept us going. Mommy read each and every one, even though we fell a bit behind on responses shortly before the middle of the alphabet. I’ve told her that her job over the next few days is to catch up on those responses and get going on reading my friends’ blogs. Sometimes humans can be difficult to train. 😉

  6. Congratulations! (You must need a rest by now.)

    • Thank you so much. I must admit that I’m looking forward to a little extra nap time over the next few days . . . and thanking my lucky stars that the alphabet only has 26 letters!

  7. Lorna says:

    I have loved your posts in the A to Z series. I have always found New Orleans fascinating and you truly bought it to life with your posts. Thanks so much xx

  8. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

    Well done on completing the challenge! I didn’t get to read all the blogs during the challenge but I look forward to catching up!


Leave a Reply

