The Getaway (From Way, Way Back)

The Getaway 2 thek9harperlee

A long, long, long, long time ago, I shared some country breakfast recipes with you and hinted that my sister and I were about to set off on a weekend getaway. Life threw a few little hurdles our way following that trip, but at long last I present to you photos and stories from the way, way back getaway.

The Getaway 1 thek9harperlee

Tallulah and I joined our humans at Butler Greenwood Plantation and Bed and Breakfast in St. Francisville, Louisiana, for three glorious days in June. This was my fifth visit to the pet-friendly B&B (you can click here to read about my third visit three years ago) and my little sister’s first visit. Butler Greenwood is one of my all-time favorite places in the world, and I was so excited to share it with Tallulah. I started her weekend with a little ghost story. Take a look at that upstairs window. What do you see? Looks a bit like a ghost, doesn’t it? I tried to convince Tallulah that Butler Greenwood is haunted. I thought that would really scare her . . .

The Getaway 4 thek9harperlee

. . . and that’s when I learned that nothing scares Tallulah. So we continued with our tour of the grounds–which included lots and lots and lots of sniffing–before settling into our cottage for the evening.

The Getaway 3 thek9harperlee

The next morning we were up bright and early. Tallulah and I had tasty bacon, egg, and cheese treats to eat and my humans had a breakfast casserole to enjoy. (My apologies for not sharing a photo of the cooked human casserole with you, which I promised to do in my “BONE Appetit: Country Breakfast Two Ways” post. The casserole photos were a casualty of my human mommy’s computer meltdown following our getaway.) After breakfast, we hurried out the door so we could get in a little exploring before the rains came.

The Getaway 5 thek9harperlee

Tallulah chose to spend the rainy afternoon working on her spoiled rotten girl bed sleeping skills . . .

The Getaway 6 thek9harperlee

. . . while I tried out some new hairstyles. I kind of like the retro spiky punk look, don’t you?

The Getaway 7 thek9harperlee

And when Tallulah wasn’t being spoiled rotten on the giant king-sized bed, she was plopping herself in front of the air-conditioner so she could soak up the cool air. I’m telling you, my little sister is all about her personal comfort.

The Getaway 8 thek9harperlee

The end of our weekend in the country came way too soon. Tallulah and I thanked our daddy–as only a couple of four-legged daddy’s girls can–and hinted that we’d like to return to Butler Greenwood for another getaway when the weather’s a bit cooler. I think Daddy got the hint.

28 Comments on “The Getaway (From Way, Way Back)”

  1. Gaye says:

    such sweet, precious girls……..

  2. Piglove says:

    aaww so beautiful everything was my sweets!! AND don’t forget about the ghost stories. You know I’m taking submissions now to my personal email for my October 31 Days of Spook. I would love to showcase a story from you on your visit 🙂 ❤ XOXO – Bacon

  3. Your second picture says it all – dogs and wine! What could be better? oh, and the ghost.

  4. Ogee says:

    I believe I DO see a ghost in the window of that second photo! What a wonderful escape.

    • We didn’t see it until we looked at the photo. I’m pretty sure it’s just the reflection of clouds, but who knows? Butler Greenwood is a great escape. I can just imagine the beautiful photos you would take there.

  5. We have never heard of this place but it sounds wonderful!

    • You and the pups really must stay there sometime. There are cute little cottages–each one different–behind the plantation home. The cottages have their own kitchens, so Mommy cooks all of the human meals ahead of time, and we just stay put. Total relaxation.

  6. Such a beautiful B&B. And you guys posing in front of it…well, hard to improve that picture! Happy weekend.

  7. Cupcake says:

    What a fun vacation! I do see a ghost up there! Yikes! You girls are very brave to stay with a ghost! Spiky and punky is a GREAT look for you, Miss HL.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    • That ghost knows luxury, Cupcake. She (we think she’s a she) chose to stay in the fancy plantation house. We were in a less fancy cottage behind the house, so we think we were pretty safe. And spiky and punky is definitely my look. 😉

  8. Emmadog says:

    Sounds fun. I think I want that breakfast you talked about! Little sisters are just a pain much of the time. They paw their way into our lives and attempt to take over!

  9. Rosy Rue says:

    What a fab weekend! You girls definitely live the Princess Life ( take it from an expert!) RosyPoodleKisses!

  10. What a beautiful place! So peaceful the ghost wouldn’t scare me either.

  11. Jan K says:

    I love that place and wish we could visit it one day! It was great to see you girls really enjoying yourselves there!

  12. tylersat99 says:

    Looks like a beautiful and fun place for a weekend visit. Of course we love all the new smells and big fields 🙂

  13. Love the photos and thanks for the link to the yummy recipes!


Leave a Reply

