Vacuums Are a Girl’s Best Friend

Vacuum 1 thek9harperlee

On the silver screen, Miss Marilyn Monroe proclaimed that diamonds are a girl’s best friend. Clearly Miss Monroe did not live with a couple of Golden Retrievers. If the did, she would have known that vacuums are a girl’s best friend. So, without further ado, I would like to introduce you to my human mommy’s favorite appliance . . . pictured here with the reason she needs it.

Vacuum 2 thek9harperlee

There is no end to the amount of Golden hair that collects on every surface, in every corner, everywhere in our house. It was manageable when I was an only dog. And then along came Tallulah Bee, also known as The Shedding Machine. Mommy’s friend sent her this cute little saying to try to make her feel better. (Any wonder that something about shedding includes a picture of a Golden Retriever?) It sounded nice, but Mommy wasn’t buying it. What she did end up buying was the Hoover Commercial PortaPower vacuum. You’ve never seen anyone get so excited about an appliance.

Vacuum 3 thek9harperlee

Mommy whipped that thing out of the box and started vacuuming everything–floors, furniture, shutters, lampshades, tabletops. Tallulah looked at me and said, “Oh my goodness, Harper Lee. Is Mommy going to vacuum us, too?” “There’s no telling,” I told her. “Just keep moving.” Thus began Mommy’s daily ritual of vacuuming. Occasionally, I’ll hear Mommy sing out, “This thing really sucks.” I think in this case, that’s a good thing.

Vacuum 4 thek9harperlee

At first the daily ritual was a bit unnerving, mostly due to Mommy’s unnatural and unbridled joy as she practically danced with Mr. Hoover from one end of the house to the other. Honestly, friends, it was borderline frightening. But after a couple of days, my little sister and I learned to accept Mommy’s obsession, and now she has to wake us up so she can get every inch of the floor . . . or she just works around us.

Vacuum 5 thek9harperlee

 Mommy even vacuums our beds, which tends to disturb a girl’s sun puddle naps.

Vacuum 7 thek9harperlee

The other day, as Mommy waltzed through the room with Mr. Hoover, I caught Tallulah making this cheeky face behind her back. “Hahaha! Try as you might, Mommy, you’ll never ever get rid of all the Golden hair,” Tallulah teased.

Vacuum 6 thek9harperlee

“That’s ok,” I told Tallulah. “I found this little saying on Mommy’s computer the other day. I think she’s secretly thankful for all of our hair. Maybe she’s just using Mr. Hoover to collect it and put it in a special place because she love us so much.”

32 Comments on “Vacuums Are a Girl’s Best Friend”

  1. I agree with your mom about vacuum cleaners. Pugs’ people like to say, “Pugs shed only once a year, but it lasts 365 days.” I’ve often said that my most important “grooming tool” is the vacuum cleaner, though it never touches our pugs..Sounds like you Goldens can compete well with the pugs!..

  2. u28ajb says:

    Totally agree with your mommy, my golden lab sheds everywhere!! I have a little hand held vacuum which is most useful at this time of the year. Trouble is my boy is scared of it and the full sized version or maybe he just doesn’t want me to take away all his magical fibres 🙂

  3. Emmadog says:

    That is an awesome saying! My mom wants to find that one in real life! Now that we don’t have Kuvasz furs around the house, there isn’t a lot of vacuuming necessary. Bailie and I don’t really shed. Mom is enjoying the more fur free floors but she would gladly take the fur on the floor if it would bring Katie back.

    • My human mommy loves that quote too. It reminds her to cherish the nose prints on the windows, scratches on the wood floors, baby gates at every opening between rooms . . . and even the Golden hair floating throughout the house and clinging to her clothes.

  4. Pierre loses his mind over the vacuum. I wish either of them would let me vacuum their fur while it is still on them. LOL!

  5. Magical fibers of love and joy-I love that analogy! Sam doesn’t shed but he does manage to drag bits of grass and other plant material so a vacuum is always necessary. And I wouldn’t have it any other way. Happy weekend.

    • Two houses ago, we had a beautiful olive tree that shaded our patio. It was beautiful until its little white flowers dropped to the ground and then traveled into the house on a Golden tail. Our last house had a crepe myrtle shading the patio, so little crepe myrtle blossoms ended up inside. So far, nothing for the girls to track in at our new house . . . so far!

  6. Sam says:

    Daily! You sure are dedicated… We tend to vacuum or sweep two times a week. And with two long-haired cats, a German “shedder” (I mean, Shepherd), and Emma – well, we probably need to even more often!

  7. Piglove says:

    Yes beautiful. These humans do have a fascination with these vacuums and something called a Swifter. Strange as it sounds, it makes them happy. Weird huh? But that’s okay because you can leave fur in my toddler bed anytime. Oops did that sound wrong or what? Snorts with piggy laughter. XOXO – Bacon

  8. Cupcake says:

    Golden hairs must be something like the furs-from-hell that Mom is always cleaning up. She vacuums at night and Swiffers in the morning. And she says the word, “Ugh” a lot.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  9. fredrieka says:

    We would be living in a furbished house

  10. Congratulations to you for not giving in to the unending battle!

  11. Luckily Airedales don’t shed…so they say! Twice a year, then that’s it….unless my allergies kick up then all bets are off! Oh, and I lay in the middle of the floor and make Ma vacuum around me! BOL!!
    Kisses,
    Ruby ♥

  12. Jan K says:

    Ugh, I hate vacuuming. But you sure can’t sweep up dog hair easily, it just wisps away and eludes the broom! We do have a handy Dyson hand held vac that I like to use for spot cleaning. So I can wisk around the house and just pick up the clumps of fur and dirt without having to drag out the big ugly heavy thing. 🙂

  13. Maryanne says:

    My mom used to have a pug that loved to be vacuumed! 😀

  14. Sheridan Johnson says:

    haha so cute!!


Leave a Reply

