Happy Eighth Birthday, Miss Harper Lee!

A note from Harper Lee’s mommy . . .

Today is Miss Harper Lee’s eighth birthday. She and I celebrated a little earlier this week–just the two of us–with a visit to the edge of the Mississippi River. We watched the barges travel up and down the river, she watched the squirrels travel up and down the trees, and we reflected on eight great years.

I couldn’t have asked for a more amazing dog. She’s sweet and smart and eager to please, and she’s been all of those things every day since the first day her human daddy and I met her.

She has an amazing ability to connect with people. Through the Visiting Pet Program, she goes to nursing homes, universities, summer camps for children with special needs, and shelters for people forced from their homes by natural disasters. She immediately brings smiles to people’s faces. When they pet her, they all say the same thing: “She’s so soft.” 

As much as I try to deny it, eight is sort of getting up there for a Golden Retriever. I have no idea how many more years we have ahead of us, but I do have a promise for my sweet girl: Your health and happiness will be my priority, and I will make every day an adventure filled with love.

Happy eighth birthday, Miss Harper Lee!

 

 

19 Comments on “Happy Eighth Birthday, Miss Harper Lee!”

  1. CarolMaeWY says:

    HaPpY 😊 Birthday Miss Harper Lee.

  2. Emmadog says:

    Happy Birthday, my friend! Have a wonderful day!

  3. u28ajb says:

    Happy 8th Birthday Miss HL 😊 Hope you have a wagtastic day filled with treats and cuddles. Wishing you many more happy years 🐾🐾

  4. Astro says:

    Happy 8th Birthday.
    Enjoy your special day.

  5. Jesse says:

    Happy Birthday Miss Harper Lee! Such a beautiful girl!

  6. Happy Barkday, Ms. Harper Lee. We hope there are loads of treats and fun on your special day! Ear scratches and nose nudges, sweet girl. ❤︎

  7. Happy birthday sweet girl! My Bailey sends his puppy love to you too! 🙂

  8. Colleen Bacon says:

    Happy Birthday Miss Harper Lee! May you have many many more!

  9. Happy 8th birthday, Miss Harper Lee. ♥ We wish you many more golden years!

  10. Happy birthday pretty girl! One of my boys turned 8 last December. Here’s to our pups having many happy, healthy years still ahead of them! 🙂

  11. Maggie & Kenai says:

    Happy Birthday, Ms Lee!! Where have all the years gone??? It was not too long ago that our Mommy saw you walking by our house when you were a little puppy and ran out to get puppy sugar from you! We love our pal!

  12. Jan K says:

    Happy Birthday, Miss Harper Lee! You tell your Mom not to worry; you are still a spring chicken, and you are looking good! ♥

  13. Such a pretty girl! Kali will be eight in a couple of months too. Wonderful and well said sentiment about your commitment to her health; my feelings as well for my Golden Kali.
    Happy Birthday MHL!, 🎉🎉

  14. Happy birthday! 😀 you’re around the same age as my girl 🙂

  15. Oh gurl, you are one beautiful gurl, and one pawsome furiend, and I hopes you had the BESTEST Burthday EVERS!!!!!! And, my Ma worries too abouts my age, butts I still act like a puppy, just to lets her know that you are only as old as you feel, rights??! BOL
    Kisses,
    Ruby ♥

  16. Ogee says:

    Happy Birthday Miss Harper Lee! You look even more beautiful as your face turns sugary. May you enjoy many, many more special birthdays with your mom. 🙂

  17. Piglove says:

    OMP – OMP – OMP! How could I miss this day? Oh beautiful – Happy Birthday from your favorite little oinker. I would give you thousands of piggy kisses if I was there. Since I’m not, close your eyes and dream of them okay. ❤ XOXO – Bacon

  18. I cannot believe I missed your birthday! Happy Happy Birthday! I also cannot believe that your blog must have stopped coming to me AGES ago (and I thought you had stopped blogging!) I just re-subscribed, damned WordPress!!!! I am so sorry!!!DakotasDen

  19. Happy birthday Miss Harper Lee! We cannot believe you are 8 already.


Leave a Reply

