One Year

Our Human Mommy Speaks

A year ago today, we said goodbye to Harper Lee. On a spring morning in 2009, when her human daddy randomly opened the paper and saw a classified ad for Golden Retriever puppies, I had no idea how my life would change over the next 13-plus years. Harper Lee taught me so much (most importantly never ever to buy a dog from a classified ad, but I’m beyond thankful I did it that one time). She brought me on amazing adventures near and far. She introduced me to wonderful people, so many special dogs, and one miniature pony. I’ve thought of Harper Lee every day since that last day. Her pawprints will be on my heart forever and ever.

Without Harper Lee, we never would have had Tallulah Bee and Birdie Blue. Miss Lee trained them well, and I cannot imagine the last year without them. The Bee and The Bird have become inseparable. There will never be another Miss Lee, but I feel as if a piece of her lives on in both of them. Letting a dog go is so hard. Their lives are far too short, and the end makes us question the sanity of putting ourselves through that again and again. But most of us do it, because to love a dog and to be loved by a dog is one of the purest joys around. Cheers to Miss Harper Lee for the joy she brought and the joy that her memory continues to bring every single day.

Forever Miss Harper Lee’s Mommy


8 Comments on “One Year”

  1. Vera Olds says:

    Harper Lee was such a wonderful girl. I have fond memories of all of our Goldens in old Goodwood!😇😇😇😇’s

  2. Meredith Clark says:

    Such a beautiful and special girl. Know you miss her. We understand completely

  3. Thinking of you and Miss Harper Lee on the one year anniversary of crossing the bridge. Never forgotten and never replace is never more fitting than for our fur babies. Wishing you nothing but happy memories on this milestone day for MHL.

  4. I was forever grateful for meeting Miss Harper Lee and her mommy in New Orleans in 2017. Miss Lee was one of a kind, and her mommy was everything I hoped she would be. Saying goodbye to our dogs is an unspeakable loss.
    But oh how they love us when they’re here.

  5. You so eloquently said what is also in my heart for my Lexi, who has been gone 7 years this September. And why we cannot live without a dog to love and to be loved by, even though we know the end will eventually come. Thank you for that, and I feel your sorrow.

  6. Sending you gentle thoughts of comfort. Lovely remembrance of your special girl. ❤️‍🩹

  7. I know how hard it is for sure……and all of the “firsts”……sending (((hugs))) as you remember

  8. I’m glad to learn of the addition of the Bird to your family. The Bird and the Bee.


Leave a comment