World Cup Fever . . . It’s Spreading

World Cup 1 thek9harperlee

Has World Cup Fever hit your house yet? Let me clue you in on a few of the symptoms: In the middle of the day, your humans stop what they’re doing and migrate toward the television. While watching the television, your mommy keeps saying “That guy is hot!” over and over and over again. (Of course that guy is hot, Mommy. The commentators keep telling you about the extreme temperatures and humidity.) And then, occasionally, your daddy yells “GOOOOOOOOOAAAAAAAAAL!” and wakes you up from a perfectly sound sleep.

World Cup 2 thek9harperlee

My humans had a minor case of World Cup Fever four years ago, or perhaps they were just hypnotized by the buzz of the South African vuvuzelas. Here’s the funny think about my humans and the World Cup: They know absolutely nothing about soccer. Yesterday, while they were watching some game that pitted some team again some other team, my mommy said to my daddy, “Do we even know how many people are on the field for each team?” And my daddy replied, “I think it’s nine.” Just for the record, humans, it’s 11, and it’s a match played on a pitch. And once and for all, it’s football, not soccer. (Wow, I think I might have gone a little British on you with all those proper football terms.) In a nutshell, my humans are the ultimate casual soccer fans who emerge from their non-soccer cocoons once very four years and become completely obsessed with the World Cup. Yep, they have the fever.

World Cup 3 thek9harperlee

So naturally yesterday when the United States took on Ghana, my humans were planted in front of that television. Lucky for them, the start of the match just happened to coincide with the start of cocktail hour. I think my human’s favorite part of any soccer match is the beginning, when the players walk out hand-in-hand with little children, stand at attention and belt out their national anthems, and then shake hands and exchange tiny flags. Mommy wonders what they do with all of those tiny flags they collect. (I told you she was a casual fan.) My humans also like how cordial the teams are to each other. When a player for one team has a leg cramp, you’ll often see a player from the other team helping to stretch his leg. And the other day, my humans saw two opposing players have a bit of an altercation. The referee went over to them, had a little chat, and then everyone shook hands and the match continued. My humans say that’s very civilized, and I would have to agree.

World Cup 4 thek9harperlee

But back to the match. After 90-ish minutes (my humans are fascinated by that seemingly random extra time that is tacked on to the end of a match), the United States prevailed over Ghana. While my mommy was happy to see the U.S. win, she was sad for the team from Ghana, mostly because she liked their “outfits” and their “hairdos” (conclusive proof that she is the ultimate casual soccer fan).

World Cup 5 thek9harperlee

As for me, I slept through most of the match. It’s going to be a long month of soccer (or football, as everyone else in the world calls it) and a girl’s got to save her strength. I wouldn’t want to get run down and succumb to the World Cup Fever that has infected my humans.


31 Comments on “World Cup Fever . . . It’s Spreading”

  1. Kuruk says:

    Miss Lee, you look furry beauwooowooootiful in your red, white, and blue scarf! xoxoxoxoxoxox, Ku

  2. noahzbark says:

    I’m impressed with your “football” knowledge Harper. When you explained soccer terms to Mom & Dad they had to be impressed too. I love that you’re patriotic. Your red/white/blue scarf is a nice touch & very pretty on you.

  3. 2browndawgs says:

    I will be napping with you Miss Harper Lee. Soccer to me is like watching paint dry…one step above tennis….lol. But I don’t mind watching golf…go figure?

    • Talbot, the Golden Retriever who preceded me, loved to watch golf. She’d watch as the ball rolled on the green, and then she’d get all confused when it went in the hole. Needless to say, that provided endless hours of entertainment for my humans!

  4. Oh Miss Harper Lee, you said it gurl!!!! OMD, it was like LOUD over here! Ma was outside with me (cause I had to do my ‘business’, and I need her to watch..hehehe) when she heard some of the neighbors yellin’ and cheerin’, so she ran inside (and LEFT ME OUTSIDE) to see if we had scored…..YES!!! she was yellin’ and shoutin’ and stuffs. Crazy.. Does she watch ‘football’…evers??? No. Okays, that’s not really true, sometimes she’ll catch the occasional game on ESPN when Ireland is playin’, butts she is like your peeps, clueless. Butts she says this is different, cause she says we usually suck compared to the rest of the world, so when we win, it is HUGE! Yeah, whatevers….can I finish doin’ my ‘business’ now??
    Kisses,
    Ruby ♥

    • Oh, Ruby, are you sure your ma didn’t run inside to take a sip of her margarita? And then when she had that yummy sip, she yelled “YES!!!”? It’s a possibility, you know. 😉

  5. This is what I know about soccer (football), Liverpool is good Manchester is bad, and the field is a pitch…. That’s it my brother has tried to teach me more but that’s all I remember lol

  6. Mom and I don’t know anything about sports. You’ve got the right idea, Miss HL. Soccer time is nap time….

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    • Even my humans would have to admit that there are few things better than napping with the sound of almost any televised sport in the background. Trust me, I’ve seen my daddy doing it more than once. 🙂

  7. fredrieka says:

    my parentswithoutpaws do not get into sports except NASCAR I like watching the cars go zoom

  8. Thanks for your support, I’m sure the US team loves it!

  9. Marcie says:

    We were also watching that game here. We weren’t looking near as chic as Miss Harper Lee with that scarf tied so eloquently though! Looking good! 🙂

  10. Misaki says:

    You look great!

  11. Mariana says:

    Dear Harper Lee, you are just too funny. Well I’m from Brazil so you can imagine that football is all there is these days. Love your insights and beautiful pictures. Kisses from Brazil!

    • Oh, I am so happy to get kisses from Brazil! We are really enjoying watching the World Cup from your beautiful country and my humans say they will definitely visit one day!

  12. ThatJenK says:

    Soccer (or ‘football’) was never a huge part of my Canadian upbringing (hockey, obviously), but we were just in Paris as the World Cup was starting and I was so surprised/impressed at how big of a deal it is! It was quite something to witness!

  13. Dogs N Pawz says:

    My mommy says those guys are hot too! I just don’t understand what all the hoopla is about!


Leave a comment