Our First Fall Fire (aka The Great Stick Sacrifice)

Fire Pit 1 thek9harperlee

Last evening, my humans and I enjoyed our first fire pit blaze of the fall. It was magical . . . at first. Flames flickered through the air as we sat beside the warm glow of embers. Burning wood popped and cracked as we sniffed the autumnal air (well, I did most of the sniffing).

Fire Pit 2 thek9harperlee

And then the most horrifying realization came to me: Those were my sticks burning in that fire pit. My humans had sacrificed my beautiful and oh-so-tasty sticks to their fire pit god. Just two days earlier, I had walked around my yard supervising my humans as they carefully collected a wheelbarrow full of sticks and then placed them in a nice little pile . . . just for me . . . I mean specifically for my chewing pleasure. Right? Apparently, I was wrong.

Fire Pit 5 thek9harperlee

Well as fast as my humans could toss my sticks into that burning pit, I started pulling them from the stick pile and carrying them to safety.

Fire Pit 3 thek9harperlee

I am pleased to report that I managed to sneak at least a few of my sticks from the pile . . . saving them from an almost certain fiery death at the hands of my humans. We won’t discuss the fate that those same sticks met between my jaws.

Fire Pit 4 thek9harperlee

I am also pleased to report that my humans and I have reached an understanding. No more sacrificing my sticks to their fire pit god. That’s good news to me, because I rather enjoy our fall fires.

Footnote thek9harperlee

Footnote: I know it appears in the photo above that our scarecrow has been sacrificed to the fire pit god. I can assure you that this is not the case. He was at a very safe distance and is currently keeping the crows away. Thankfully, he has no power to repel squirrels.

Also, my human mommy/blogging assistant “got a little off track” with my blogging. (Those are her sugar-coated words. Just between us, she has been completely dreadful at updating you on my adventures and keeping me up-to-date on yours.) She promises that with this post she is now “back on the rails.” I plan to hold her feet to the fire . . . a fire built without any of my precious sticks.

29 Comments on “Our First Fall Fire (aka The Great Stick Sacrifice)”

  1. Cinnamon says:

    what a wonderful fire pit and place to hang out on fall evenings.

    xo Cinnamon

    • We hardly used the fire pit at all last year. It seems like the fall was too hot or too rainy or too something and then the winter was way too cold. So we’re looking forward to many wonderful evenings this year . . . without having to sacrifice any of my sticks!

  2. Emmadog says:

    That’s a lot of nerve just burning your sticks. Major bummer!

  3. Cupcake says:

    I wasn’t sure whether that was a scarecrow or a g-g-g-ghost. What a relief that it’s a scarecrow and that he’s safe and sound… Unlike your delicious stick collection. Humans need a lot of oversight. They have a tendency to get into tons of mischief.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  4. fredrieka says:

    woof your burning STICKS? that can not be right.. grr

  5. Wonderful firepit Miss Harper Lee! It is always great seeing you 🙂 Our Mom deserted us and our blogging friends too with Family’s football games and fall chores…*sigh*….don’t feel bad!
    Marty

  6. Good thing you were able to rescue a stick or two!

  7. Sadie says:

    How dare they burn your sticks?! Our humans do that around here, too. Only they have to get an enclosed fire pit with a lid to keep me from snatching them once the fire’s out. Geesh, don’t they get it? 😉 Looks like a gorgeous night for a bonfire though!

  8. Hahaha! I had to scroll back and see the scarecrow appearing to be burning at the stake! I cannot believe they sacrificed your hard sought sticks to the fire god! WTD? My mom wishes that we could come down for gameday. We will be glued to the television. Hold up a sign for us Harper! BOL!

    • We’re so sorry that you won’t make it down for the big day, but I think we just might hear your humans cheering all the way from North Louisiana. You might want to try ear plugs–some pretty big ones for your handsome ears–for this game. 😉

  9. Oh, that’s just no good MHL!! I’m glads you managed to pull a few to safety ~ don’t lets your humans find them…you gots to find a good hidey place, okay?
    Oh, and Ma has been ‘off track’ with my bloggie for AGES!!! So, i feel your pain gurl!!
    Maybe you should come by for a margarita ~ it’s still summer over here!
    Kisses,
    Ruby ♥

    • Well, Ruby, at first I thought about hiding my sticks behind the wine supply, but then I realized that was a dreadful idea. That’s the first place my humans look . . . every day at 5 o’clock. 😉

  10. The HORROR of it all!! We’re glad to hear that you and your parents have reached a mutual understanding.
    Wally & Sammy

  11. How rude! Burning YOUR sticks. If Mummy even thinks of burning our carrots to stay warm she’s got another thing coming!

    xxxx

  12. That’s a huge sacrifice to make, but glad you were able to save a few for yourself.

  13. Mags Corner says:

    Oh, no!! Sweet Miss Harper Lee they burned some of your precious sticks. We are so glad you were able to save some of them and you have reached an understanding about no more burning your sticks. We are happy the scarecrow is okay too, it looked a bit iffy there and we are glad you explained that. Keep enjoying those sticks and that nice firepit too without your sticks in it. Hugs and nose kisses

  14. cafall says:

    We were hoping things were okay!

    Demand the return of all your sticks!

    Monty and Harlow

  15. Sage says:

    Oh, my. We know about the being off track. Summer was a bit of a bummer here, but Mom thinks she’s back in the game….finally. And I know all about that stick thing, MHL. What were they thinking????

  16. Oh Ms. Harper Lee, Louie feels your pain. He loves HIS sticks! And I feel your writing assistant’s pain, Louie and I have posted a blog in months. We’re very well and very busy, but I have to get on the stick 😉

  17. That should have read “have not posted a blog in months.”


Leave a Reply

