Meet Mille

This is Mille (pronounced “Milly”). Her name is Mille because she is a Millenium Dog. Never heard of that breed? Do you remember Y2K? It was before my time, but people have told me about it. That’s when the calendar went from 1999 to 2000 and everyone thought the lights would go out forever and the ATMs would stop working. (Humans can be very silly.) Well, that was about the time that Mille was delivered to my human grandparents’ door as a retirement gift for my grandfather. SURPRISE! In the last 13 years, Mille has grown on my grandparents. They say she looks a lot like the Blue Dog painted by Louisiana artist George Rodriogue. Look at the photos on the artist’s Facebook page and judge for yourself.

When I was visiting my grandparents last week, I wanted to play with Mille, but she kept hiding from me. When she wasn’t ducking into a closet or escaping into the garage, she was peeking out from behind a plant. Can you imagine any dog hiding from an exceptionally outgoing Golden Retriever?

Perhaps it’s because Mille sees herself as simply too sophisticated for play. She spends a lot of time on her chaise longue–and it is her chaise longue. There she indulges in morning coffee and afternoon cocktails with my grandfather.

As you can see from the bandanna, we’ve made Mille into an LSU Tigers fan. Look at her tongue. She must be licking her chops for our next opponent!

2 Comments on “Meet Mille”

  1. Gaye says:

    what a great idea for a retirement gift!!


Leave a Reply

