My Marathon Weekend: Part 1

Ready to Go thek9harperlee

As you know, I have been in serious marathon training mode. I have trained to be the perfect spectator, and I have trained for the post-marathon celebration. I am happy to report that all of my intense training paid off when I joined my humans in the Crescent City last weekend to help my human daddy run the Rock ‘n’ Roll New Orleans Marathon. We loaded my chariot and set off on our big adventure early Friday afternoon. I wish I could tell you a little about the drive, but I’m afraid I can’t because I tend to get slightly sleepy on road trips. That’s why I leave the driving to my humans.

At the Hotel thek9harperlee

It seemed as if I had just drifted off when suddenly we reached our destination. Look at me in the hotel room: in New Orleans less that 20 minutes and I already have voodoo eyes. We stayed at the Marriott Residence Inn New Orleans Downtown. They are super pet friendly. It turns out that they are also human friendly. When the nice lady at the reception desk found out my daddy would be running in the marathon Sunday morning, she put us in a quiet courtyard room so my daddy could get a good night’s sleep before the big day. I love it when people treat my humans well!

Ernst Cafe 1 thek9harperlee

The hotel is in an area of New Orleans called the Warehouse District, which is home to lots of restaurants, bars, and loft living. Our first stop, Ernst Cafe, was established in 1902 and welcomes pups like me.

NOLA Blonde thek9harperlee

My humans enjoyed an appetizer and I had a little taste of the NOLA Blonde Ale. Doesn’t that just seem like a perfect beverage for a Golden Retriever? By this time, I was feeling extremely comfortable in my new surroundings. My humans explained to me that they would be going out that evening to grab a quick dinner and watch the New Orleans Hornets play a basketball game. I would be home alone in the hotel room for a little while.

Home Alone thek9harperlee

PARTY!! Home alone for the evening in a nice hotel room with a nice bed all to myself? What’s not to like about that? Actually, I was a very good girl. I stayed in my new travel crate, because those are the house rules, and I was very, very quiet. If you must know the truth, I actually welcomed the time to myself for a little rest and relaxation because I knew that the next two days would be action packed.

Cafe Freret 1 thek9harperlee

After a night of really loud thunderstorms (I slept through it all, but my humans apparently heard everything), we jumped into my chariot Saturday morning for a short drive to the Garden District, a beautiful area of New Orleans and home to Cafe Freret. I perused the A La Collar Menu and settled on the Peanut Butter Dog Biscuits . . .

Cafe Freret 2 thek9harperlee

 . . . which I thoroughly enjoyed as my humans ate their brunch. We had planned on a nice walk in nearby Audubon Park, but unfortunately the thunder and rain returned just as we were finishing our lovely meal. So we stopped to visit with a couple of other dogs who had accompanied their humans to brunch and then quickly hopped into my chariot for a drizzly ride back to the hotel.

Pre-Dinner Nap thek9harperlee

They say every cloud has a silver lining. In this case that silver lining was a much-deserved afternoon nap as the raindrops fell outside.

Herbsaint thek9harperlee

After my nap, feeling completely refreshed and ready for a big night on the town, I joined my humans at Herbsaint Bar and Restaurant for an early dinner. Herbsaint is one of those odd restaurants that only has a menu for humans, but they are happy to seat dogs outside and they are generous with their containers of water. I think dining outside at Herbsaint is fascinating because I get to watch the St. Charles Avenue streetcar rumble up the street ever so often. My humans really seemed to enjoy their meal; they all but ignored me and I had a nice rest under the table.When we got up to leave, the man at the table next to us said, “Oh, I had no idea there was a dog over there.” That’s what my humans like to hear!

The District thek9harperlee

As we made our way back to the hotel, we walked by an establishment called The District. We had passed this place several times over the last couple of days, and each time I had pulled in a very uncharacteristic manner to go into its open doors. My humans were under the impression that I would not be allowed inside, so they had discouraged me each time. This time my human mommy suggested that my daddy ask the bartender if I might just walk in for a second to get this desire out of my system. That’s when the bartender informed my humans that I was more than welcome in The District. Obviously . . . I knew this all along. Once inside, I had a grand time meeting and greeting so many nice people. As much fun as my humans and I were having, though, we knew that we needed to call it an early night and get a little rest before the big marathon. Little did I know what fun awaited me the next day.


19 Comments on “My Marathon Weekend: Part 1”

  1. Maryanne says:

    HA! Yes, blonde ale is appropriate for a golden retriever! I can’t believe all these places have doggie menus — that is just beyond cute!

    Oooh, and I see your mysterious Mommy’s wedding band! Maybe someday you’ll let your humans have a guest picture? 🙂

    • The nice bartender at The District said they are planning on adding a doggy menu. I knew I liked that place! Cannot wait to go back.
      And about my parents . . . you know how they can be . . . once I let them weasel their way onto my blog it will just go to the humans! (Get it? Not go to the dogs, but go to the humans?)

  2. Ogee says:

    What a wonderful trip! And you look like the picture of perfect manners. No wonder you are welcome everywhere you go!

  3. Really Miss Harper Lee, I hope my next doggies are as well mannered and polite as you are. I don’t know that I can find another with the exquisite taste you have in scarves and beads, but maybe someday, we’ll come to NOLA and meet and you can give fashion advice. I believe I saw something about the Rock & Roll Marathon coming to Raleigh, I won’t run, but I’ll spectate.

    • My humans say they got really lucky with me . . . I’m an old soul, so I’ve always been a pretty calm girl. You will definitely enjoy watching the marathon. It’s a whole lot more fun than running one and the people who do run it really appreciate the support!

  4. wilco2012 says:

    Sounds like an amazing weekend! You’re so lucky to be allowed in restaurants with your human Mom and Dad. There is no where like that where I live – whenever they go out I have to stay home. 😦

    • I’m sorry you don’t get to join your humans for “date night,” but you do have those gorgeous parks where you get to run free. I wish I had that. And, technically, I’m generally not allowed in rmost estaurants, but I am welcome in the outdoor seating areas.

  5. What an amazing time you are having. I have always wanted to go to New Orleans and now that I find out there are so many dog friendly places there, I want to visit even more. You are a very well behaved K9 and I’m sure you are welcome everywhere.

  6. You would love New Orleans– it’s a beautiful city with great food, great music, and the nicest people you’d ever want to meet. This was actually my second long weekend there, but I’m sure it won’t be my last. My humans and I have only scratched the surface of all the pet-friendly places and activities the city has to offer.

  7. Oh Miss Harper Lee, we love your travel commentary and The Red Man wishes to add that you are looking very sophisticated in your NOLA surroundings!! Party on, Girl. 🙂

  8. writetowag says:

    What an awesome trip…and the NOLA blonde ale…perfect!!!! So glad you have been blessed with such an awesome family!!!! Sending treats and a high paw from Trev!!!!

  9. Gaye says:

    love the pic of you pawtying @ The District!!

  10. Sage says:

    We used to love going to New Orleans when we lived in Texas. Your post brought back very pleasant memories!

    Sage’s Mom

    • New Orleans is a great city, and very pet-friendly. This was actually my second time to join my humans there, and I cannot wait to return!
      P.S. Sage would have loved it: Lots of rain that weekend meant lots of very fun puddles and mud in City Park for the end of the marathon!


Leave a comment