Throwback Thursday: Miss Lee at Four

Harper Lee 4 yrs old thek9harperlee

This is the fourth and final entry in my series of Throwback Thursday photos leading up to my fifth birthday.

While the pictures for my first, second, and third birthdays were happy coincidences–my humans just happened to take a photo around the time that just happened to be my birthday–this photo was intentional. This is the one that started a tradition of Miss Harper Lee birthday photos, which my humans hope continues for a very long time to come.

This photo was taken in my back yard at almost exactly this time last year. The azaleas were in full bloom and the garden was beautiful. Butterflies, bees, and birds flew through the air. What a difference a year makes. This year, Mother Nature has been exceptionally cruel and Old Man Winter just refuses to go away. But that won’t stop the celebration.

As my humans look back through all four years of birthday photos, they notice that my face has gotten a little more white and my nose has gotten a little less black; but I still have my puppy smile and my beautiful bourbon-colored eyes. They’ve also been reminded of all the “firsts” we’ve shared, and they’ve started to dream about all the “firsts” to come.

While the weather may change from year to year, there is one thing that will always remain constant: my humans’ love for me and my love for them. What fun we’ll have when we celebrate that love on my fifth birthday, March 17, 2014.

37 Comments on “Throwback Thursday: Miss Lee at Four”

  1. fredrieka says:

    My mom started taking pictures of me from the time she brought me home to live with her and my human dad.. She has not stopped, we know my birthday is in June, just not sure when

  2. This is an exceptionally wonderful picture of you Miss Harper Lee! Can’t wait to see this year’s picture! You are right our love for each other will never change, just grow deeper!
    Marty and Mom

  3. fozziemum says:

    Always ageless sweet girl πŸ™‚ what a lovely snapshot πŸ™‚ hugs Fozziemum xx

  4. You are a very beAutiful girl.

  5. love love love that smile!

  6. thinker1958 says:

    so nice to see you surrounded by love year after year. you look so pretty.

  7. The Red Man sends Paw Snaps and Twirls to the Fabulous Miss Harper Lee for her fifth birthday!! Her golden looks and sweet smile will carry her with style and grace for many years to come!
    Some of us are just born lucky, and you and I are among the luckiest!! Enjoy the day and have a wonderful year!
    P.S. Pretty drove us through Baton Rouge last week to Texas, and we always think of you when we hit Tiger Country…:)

    • Oh, Red Man, paw snaps and twirls for my birthday? A golden girl couldn’t ask for a better gift. πŸ™‚ However, I must tell you that I am appalled, absolutely appalled, that you have once again snuck through the beautiful Red Stick–also known as Baton Rouge–without letting us know. Shame! I insist that you let us know next time you are driving through (unless, of course, you are running from the law) so that we can get together. P.S. A big congrats to the Gamecocks on their victories in the first two rounds of the SEC basketball tourney. Who would have thunk that? πŸ™‚

      • Oh Miss Harper Lee – we have gone to your previous years and find that you have always been as adorable as you are on your fifth birthday and that’s MIGHTY cute!! Clearly you are as sweet, too – and we think your humans are very lucky!! πŸ™‚
        My apologies for not stopping as we traveled through your ‘Hood, but I can tell you I can’t do anything with Pretty and the old woman Slow when they get a whiff of Texas!! Louisiana is SO close and after double-digit hours in the old Dodge Dakota, they keep on trucking…one day I’ll get them to visit!
        P.S. Nobody would’ve thunk that the Cocks could win 2 games in the SEC basketball tourney. Nobody.

  8. Your birthday is on St Patricks Day. You dirty dog with bourbon eyes! Good thing your parents take photo’s. We recently played videos of our first Goldens from over 17 years ago…..the tears were a flowing. Happy BIrthday buildup MHL!

    • As a child, my human mommy had a Weimaraner named Gretel. One time when my human daddy was looking through old photo albums, he said that Gretel was the most photographed dog in the world. Ha! She had nothing on me! You are so fortunate to have videos of your first Goldens. My mommy so wishes she had more pictures of Talbot, her first Golden.

  9. Misaki says:

    Such a lovely photo of you xxx

  10. You look beautiful among the azaleas! I have a picture of my Tucker (Golden) in front of some with one of the same heart-melting Golden smiles. I know Miss Harper Lee will have a fabulous fifth birthday!! Bark More, Growl Less Barking from the Bayou!

    • There is nothing like a Golden smile. πŸ™‚ It’s amazing the difference that this dreadful winter has made in the garden. That very same azalea this year is just starting to bloom. I must say, though, that we are so thankful the buds didn’t freeze in the last ice event. Enough, Old Man Winter!

  11. Like fine wine, you grow better with time. xoxo

  12. Rebekah says:

    Gorgeous photo of a gorgeous girl!

  13. Mags Corner says:

    Gorgeous! We too hope the birthday photos continue for a very long time. Hugs and nose kisses

    • Thank you! Perhaps my birthday wish will be that all pets spend long, happy live with their humans, and that the precious animals without humans find their perfect forever homes.

  14. We can’t wait to celebrate with you!!
    Wally & Sammy

  15. 2browndawgs says:

    You still look like a puppy Miss Harper Lee and that is a beautiful picture!

  16. cafall says:

    Something about Goldens and flowers – pictures that always come out beautiful!

    Monty and Harlow

  17. What a lovely young lady, you are, Miss Harper Lee!


Leave a Reply

