Shopping Around the World–The Shaken Not Stirred Edition

Jan Shopping 5 thek9harperlee

It’s that time again, friends. Time to join Bacon and Fozzie for a little Shopping Around the World. But first, I think I’ll just sip on this extra dry martini. What’s that? What do you mean I can’t drink a martini? Shopping is stressful business and I need a little something to help me unwind. Oh well, it was worth a try. Without further ado, here are the prices that my humans paid in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA, for the items on this month’s list: olives, light bulbs, air spray, lettuce, and an item of their choice. 

Olives–A 5.75-ounce jar of ShurFine (that’s our local store brand) Pimento-Stuffed Spanish Olives–$1.99: These are the least expensive olives at our neighborhood grocery store, but my humans say that they’re the best. The label says that this jar contains 11 servings. But at three olives per martini, I think my humans manage to stretch things a bit further than that.

Jan Shopping 1 thek9harperlee

Light Bulbs–A four-pack of Sylvania Double-Life Soft-White 60-Watt Light Bulbs–$6.18: My humans really go through light bulbs. It’s like they’re afraid of the dark or something. And every time they get ready to replace a burned-out bulb, it seems that they don’t have the specific replacement bulb they need. So off to the store they go. My recommendation to you: Buy stock in a light bulb company. Oh, and Mommy told me that light bulbs are not treats, so I put my tongue back in my mouth.

Jan Shopping 3 thek9harperlee

Air Spray–A 12.5-ounce can of Lysol Disinfectant Spray (Early Morning Breeze Scent)–$4.97: Mommy’s really more into candles than spray, but she does keep a can of Lysol under the sink for really stinky things. One can lasts forever. Mostly she uses it to spray the foam inside my beds when she washes the covers. Hey, wait a minute. Does that mean that she thinks I’m really stinky?

Jan Shopping 2 thek9harperlee

Lettuce–A 5-ounce container of Whole Foods Market Organic Baby Romaine Triple-Washed Lettuce–$3.99: Although Mommy’s usually pretty frugal (I would say she’s a cheapskate, but she might see this blog post), she splurges when it comes to lettuce. She likes the convenience and the variety of the packages. I had a little taste of this fancy lettuce, and frankly I have no idea what she sees in it.

Jan Shopping 4 thek9harperlee

Item of My Choice–Ladies Rubber Rain Boots–$27.99: Mommy bought these last weekend using a $5 coupon. I told you she’s cheap frugal. Rubber rain boots really come in handy when it’s been raining a lot and Mommy needs venture into the back yard to scoop my poop. And here’s a bonus for those times when she’s not paying attention to where she’s walking: The soles can be hosed off, if you catch my drift.

Whew, I made it through my shopping list. Are you curious about what my friends in all four corners of the world paid for these items? Click here to connect with Bacon’s blog or here to connect with Fozzie’s blog, and they’ll put you in touch with all the other shoppers. Now, about that martini . . . .


10 Comments on “Shopping Around the World–The Shaken Not Stirred Edition”

  1. PigLove says:

    oh squeals!! Mommy is trying to knock me off my computer to look at those there boots. She ❤ them I think. Snorts. Olives are delicious – I kind of like those too. And hey who would have thought that my mom uses them in her Bloody Mary's. What does this tell us about our humans? Shakes head and snorts. XOXO – Bacon

    • Let’s think. Your mommy likes her olives in Bloody Marys and my mommy likes hers in martinis. You don’t think we’re driving our humans to drink, do you Bacon? No, that can’t be it. 🙂
      P.S. Mommy got the boots at Stein Mart. I’m pretty sure you have Stein Mart in the Atlanta area.

  2. fozziemum says:

    Oh my Sweetie those boots..i love me some boots!! they were a steal..and I bet mum rocks a martini while wearing them haahaha 🙂 seems we have prices a bit dearer than you and I agree with mum I prefer candles…and incense..but for those real stankers! yep spray 🙂 thanks for joining us shopping sweetie..now back to that drinkie poo :)loves Fozziemum xxx

  3. cafall says:

    I always forget about Bacon’s list! I think your prices are a little cheaper than ours – a jar of lives that big here would be about 3-4 dollars.

    Monty and Harlow

    • As soon as I know the date and items for the next Shopping Around the World, I’ll be sure to post it on my blog. It’s always fun to see what people from all around the world pay for things. Usually makes us realize how fortunate we are to have the prices we have.

  4. pilch92 says:

    I like how you did this price post, especially the martini 🙂


Leave a comment