HL Does NOLA from A to Z: N is for NOLA BREWING COMPANY

N2 thek9harperlee

N is for NOLA Brewing Company. In this case, the NOLA stands for New Orleans Lager and Ale, rather than the usual New Orleans, La. At one time, New Orleans was a beer-brewing town. But following Hurricane Katrina, the final brewing operation (Dixie) outsourced its operation to Wisconsin. That didn’t sit well with Kirk Coco, a U.S. Navy veteran and native New Orleanian. Kirk contacted longtime Dixie brewmaster Peter Caddoo . . . and NOLA beer was born. Today NOLA Brewing Company operates from a bright red building on Tchoupitoulas Street just steps away from where I live in the Irish Channel, which is pretty convenient for my humans.

N1 thek9harperlee

The Tap Room is open every day from 11 a.m. to 11 p.m., with a second-floor deck overlooking the Mississippi River and operations at the Port of New Orleans. While you’re sipping on that NOLA beer, enjoy a little taste of McClure’s BBQ, which operates in the Tap Room. And why not take a tour of the brewery. Tours are offered Saturdays from 2 to 3 p.m. and Sundays from 2 to 4 p.m. . . . but check the NOLA Brewing Company website because sometimes tours are canceled for big New Orleans events like Jazz Fest. So here’s to NOLA Brewing Company, which blazed the trail to bring beer brewing back to the Big Easy. Cheers!

N

This post is part of the Blogging from A to Z Challenge. Please click here for a link to the challenge homepage and a list of  the bloggers who are participating.  The A to Z Challenge takes a break on Sundays, but I’ll be back on Monday. O where do you think we’re going? Get it? 🙂

14 Comments on “HL Does NOLA from A to Z: N is for NOLA BREWING COMPANY”

  1. I love their logo. ♥

  2. I hope the upstairs deck is dog friendly. BBQ sounds yummy!

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  3. Emmadog says:

    I’m guessing they don’t make a special beer for dogs?

  4. stephie5741 says:

    That looks like my kind of place!

    Stephanie
    http://stephie5741.blogspot.com

  5. If I ever make it across the pond again from the UK I’d love to go here.

  6. I found your blog through the A to Z Challenge and I’m really glad I did. Great Post!

  7. Debby says:

    New follower from the A-Z challenge and I think I’m in love…I have a black lab and am just an all around dog/cat/animal LOVER. Adorable photos.


Leave a Reply

