A Puppy for Christmas

Christmas Puppy 1 thek9harperlee

No, I am not getting a puppy for Christmas. My humans did have some fairly serious discussions about the possibility (conversations that, by the way, did not include any input from me), but they determined that the time just isn’t right at the moment. I ask you, is there ever a “right” time to get a puppy? Whatever. They seem fairly firm in their decision, so I have a feeling it may be a while until I am telling you about a new sister.

Christmas Puppy 2 thek9harperlee

But I am very happy to tell you about a fantastic book that my human mommy read while she was on her island getaway a few weeks ago. It’s called The Puppy That Came for Christmas: How a Dog Brought One Family the Gift of Joy by Megan Rix. The book opens with these words:

“I crouched down beside the traveling crate and watched the two beautiful creamy-colored golden-retriever/Labrador-cross puppies snuggled up together. . . . Three months before, I’d never even thought about having a dog. . . . Was I ready for this? . . . As I looked down at the puppies, I had no idea that, however unprepared Ian and I were for the joys, challenges and downright disruptions of puppy parent life, it would be nothing compared with how unprepared we’d be to relinquish our beloved puppy when she passed on to the next stage of her training to become a Helper Dog for disabled people.”

Rix goes on to tell the story of how she and her husband, Ian, became involved in the Helper Dogs program, first as puppy parents to Emma and then to Freddy. They had each dog for the first six months of its life. During that time, they taught Emma and Freddy basic obedience commands, helped them become comfortable in various social situations, and, inevitably, fell in love with each puppy. She shares stories of people who have been assisted by Helper Dogs (including Emma and Freddy) and the incredible bonds they developed with their four-legged mates. Rix also reveals some very real struggles that she and Ian face in their lives. Finally, she introduces her readers to Traffy, the puppy that came for Christmas.

Christmas Puppy 3 thek9harperlee

The Puppy That Came for Christmas is a perfect gift idea for the dog lovers on your Christmas list. At just over 200 pages, it’s a quick and mostly light read. Mommy did cry a few times, but I think that’s mostly because she missed me while she was on her trip . . . and she’s a real sap when it comes to anything about dogs. In the end, though, she had a huge smile on her face, and lots and lots of kisses and hugs for me when she got home.

Meet the Pet Bloggers Hop

Just wanted to let you know that tomorrow is a very, very big day. Tomorrow, you get to meet my human mommy as part of the Meet the Bloggers blog hop. Now, everyone knows that this is my blog and my mommy is merely my blogging assistant. But last week I read about this blog hop on I Still Want More Puppies and I decided that Mommy deserves a little recognition (but just a little). You can click here to read all about the hop and its hosts. I hope you’ll join the hop, and I hope you’ll enjoy seeing and meeting my mommy, who spends a lot of time behind the camera taking all of my pictures.


21 Comments on “A Puppy for Christmas”

  1. You look more beautiful than ever in your pictures today, Miss HL. I love your swanky collar and stuffed toy. That looks like a good book. We will definitely be back tomorrow to meet your Mom.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    • Thank you very much, Cupcake. Mommy made the collar for me last year. It makes me look pretty and festive. 🙂 The book is very good, and I’m so happy that you’re going to get to meet my mommy tomorrow. She’s a little shy. 😉

  2. Yay! So glad you’ll be joining us tomorrow! 🙂

    That book sounds like a great read. I’ll have to check it out.

    • Really looking forward to tomorrow’s hop. If it weren’t for you and the other hosts, Mommy probably never ever would have come out from behind the camera. Now I just hope I’ll be able to keep her under control. This is, after all, my blog. 😉

  3. Jan K says:

    Oh, Miss Lee, you look so sad that you are not getting a puppy!! But the time has to be right, and I hope it will be for you one day. That books sounds wonderful. Can’t wait to meet your Mom tomorrow!

    • The bad news is no sister for Christmas. The good news is I still get 100 percent of my humans’ attention! The book is very, very sweet and I’m happy to hear that you’re looking forward to meeting my mommy!

  4. Andrea says:

    When I went on vacation in Hawaii, my only regret was not being able to bring Rocco. It was really hard leaving him behind with my mother-in-law, and as he was a puppy I worried he wouldn’t remember us etc.

    As we were unpacking in Hawaii, discussing whether or not Rocco was doing alright…I found a bacon twist in my clothing. :3 I realize he was probably just looking for a great hiding place, but I like to think he tucked it away for me. It made my vacation perfect.

    • So sweet. Mommy had chills and a little cry when she read this. My humans always find Harper Lee hair in their luggage. It makes them think that I am always with them, wherever they may be. 🙂

  5. That looks like a really cute book. And sisters aren’t so bad once you get used to the idea. (Just for future reference)

    • The book is great. It’s so funny to read about puppy parenthood from the perspective of someone who hasn’t ever had a dog before. The only think I might not like about having a sister is sharing my humans’ undivided attention. 😉

  6. dailyspro says:

    The title of this post made my heart leap 🙂 When your humans are ready – I know you’ll make a great big sister.

    Also – thanks for the book referral! I’ll be sure to check this one out!

    • The book is very, very good. I know you’ll enjoy it. And about that puppy, I think I’ll be a terrific big sister. I can teach that new puppy how to look at my humans in just the right way to get anything she wants!

  7. Oh Miss Harper Lee, Ku’s Mama here, you deserve a little puppy sisfur and we all hope you get one soon! Merry Christmas pretty girl!

  8. I hope you get a new friend soon. You look so adorable in all these pictures.

  9. One day you will get a new little friend. Thanks for sharing the book and reminding me of the hop tomorrow, I have to get rolling on mine.

  10. Emmadog says:

    I got a puppy for my birthday…still not sure that was fair, but I love my little sis. I won’t post about my mom until Thurs. as I have to do a different post tomorrow, but we can’t wait to read all about the moms and dads out there!

    • I think it’s going to be super fun to meet all the humans. Looking forward to meeting your mom Thursday. I’m glad you love your little sis. I’m sure I’ll love mine too, one day. 😉

  11. 2browndawgs says:

    Sounds like a good book. Wish I had more time to read. 🙂


Leave a comment