Drove My Chevy to the Levee

(MOMENT OF TRUTH: I actually do not drive. Why should I? I have humans who take me everywhere. And I do not own a Chevy. I have a Volvo, which my humans call my “chariot.” I like the sound of that. But I did take a trip to the Mississippi River levee, and I want to share my adventure with you.)

Last Sunday, I joined my humans for a trip to the Mississippi River levee in Baton Rouge. On the way, we made a lunch stop at Zippy’s.

I very much enjoyed my time at Zippy’s. I met lots of people, including one nice lady who has a three-year-old Golden Retriever named Belle (maybe I’ll see her next time I visit Zippy’s) and another nice lady who completed The Color Run New Orleans the day before.  (I wonder what color a Golden Retriever would be after a Color Run?) Of course, I do not need to tell you that I enjoyed the beer (just a taste) at Zippy’s.

It was a beautiful day on the levee. There was a lot of barge traffic on the river and plenty of people enjoying the perfect autumn weather.

That bridge behind me is “The New Bridge.” Its official name is the Horace Wilkinson Bridge and it was opened in 1968, but everybody calls it “The New Bridge.” My humans get a real laugh out of something from 1968 being called “new.” I guess that makes my humans “practically new.”

This is Louisiana’s Old State Capitol. Not my best photo, but it does give you a good look at the building, which is 160 years old and very beautiful inside and out.

That tall, skinny building in the background is the “new” Louisiana State Capitol Building. It was completed in 1932 and is the tallest state capitol in the United States.

The beautiful building behind me is the Shaw Center for the Arts. It opened in 2005 (now that really is new) and it houses, among other things, the LSU Museum of Art, The Manship Theatre, and Tsunami restaurant. My chances of ever getting into the Shaw Center are slim to none, but a girl can dream.

I had a great time on the Mississippi River levee. There is so much to see, and it’s a very peaceful place to enjoy a gorgeous autumn afternoon.


6 Comments on “Drove My Chevy to the Levee”

  1. Gaye says:

    that was quite a history lesson, Harper Lee! I had no idea that our state capitol was the tallest in the country. Guess you can teach an old human a new trick…..

  2. Ogee says:

    What a fun-filled day, Harper Lee. You must have enjoyed a good long nap on the ride home. Good thing the humans were driving!

  3. I must admit I was a little pooped that evening.

  4. seakist says:

    There is just so much to LOVE about this one! From the opening sentences onward! Absolutely delightful 🙂


Leave a comment