The Country Girl: Part 1

Butler Greenwood thek9harperlee

Last Friday afternoon, my humans loaded my chariot (with, among other things, all that human food my mommy had prepared the day before, one of my beds and several toys that I would ignore for the next 48 hours, and a healthy supply of wine) and we headed to Butler Greenwood Plantation and Bed and Breakfast for a little rest and a lot of relaxation. Butler Greenwood Plantation is located in St. Francisville, Louisiana. It’s less than 45 minutes from my house, but it feels like an entire world away. This was actually my third trip to the B&B. The photo on my very first blog post was taken at Butler Greenwood almost a year and a half ago when I made my second visit.

Chase's Cottage thek9harperlee

Butler Greenwood guests stay in eight cottages that are situated on the plantation’s beautiful grounds. On our previous visits, my humans and I have stayed in The Treehouse, which features a three-level deck on a beautiful wooded ravine, and The Cook’s Cottage, a 19th-century building that was home to the plantation’s cook. This time we checked into Chase’s Cottage, which is located on the edge of the pond and features a steep-pitched tin roof and a lovely porch that is perfect for a summer stay.

Walk in the Field 2 thrk9harperlee

My daddy unloaded my chariot, my mommy got everything settled, and then the three of us set out on our first walk through the big field behind the plantation home and cottages. I love to run through that field . . .

Exploring thek9harperlee

. . . and to check out all the wonderful smells. It is heavenly.

Porch thek9harperlee

After our first walk through the field, we settled down on the beautiful, breezy porch where we would spend most of our time during this visit. We watched the activities in, on, and around the pond. My humans read books and magazines. My daddy and I dozed, and–of course–my mommy took lots and lots of pictures with that crazy camera. I was simply mesmerized by all the sounds–birds and baby birds, frogs of all sorts, ducks, and even a peacock who would entertain us with a lovely show later in the day.

Baby Birds thek9harperlee

Some barn swallow babies, crammed into a nest that was safely tucked just beneath the porch’s ceiling, were our constant companions.

Barn Swallow thrk9harperlee

The adult barn swallows swooped from atop the porch lights, to the surface of the pond where they collected bugs, and then up to the little nest to feed those bugs to their babies. They rested briefly on the porch railing, and then started the process all over again.

Ducks thek9harperlee

I watched the ducks on the pond and something deep, deep, deep inside of me said, “Hey . . . Harper Lee. Did anyone ever tell you that you’re a bird dog? Did you know that somewhere way back in your past you had canine family members who actually retrieved those things?” I chose to ignore that crazy voice and just watched those pretty little ducks paddling from one end of their pond to the other and back again. In the evening, they really did settle into their floating duck house for the night.

Humphrey thek9harperlee

As my humans sat on the cottage porch enjoying a yummy early dinner pre-prepared by my mommy, they glanced across the pond and saw handsome Humphrey, the plantation peacock, performing his nightly show. He seemed quite pleased to have an appreciative audience.

Chipmunk Pair thek9harperlee

Our post-dinner wine stroll brought this cute surprise: two chipmunks peeking out of their little chipmunk home. If I used all four paws, I think I would run out toes to count all the different types of animals I saw and heard last weekend. It was magical.

Tired Pup thek9harperlee

It was also a little exhausting. Back at Chase’s Cottage, I quickly dozed off. Let’s face it: Human rest and relaxation can be overwhelming for a Golden Retriever, and my humans and I would need our rest for the next beautiful day at Butler Greenwood Plantation and Bed and Breakfast.


45 Comments on “The Country Girl: Part 1”

  1. Sunshine, Maggie, Kenai - The BIG dogs says:

    Is Ms Lee UNDER the bed in the last pic? Looks like quite the magical weekend!

  2. finnhoward says:

    What a beautiful place. I love that pretty peacock. Can’t wait to see what part 2 brings!

  3. evi says:

    oh wow, this looks like all of you were having a great time 🙂

    • We all had a very good time. Butler Greenwood is one of our favorite places to visit. It’s relaxing, quiet, and peaceful for my humans and fun to explore for me!

  4. That sounds heavenly Harper Lee! So funny that you thought you’d run out of paw-toes to count the types of animals 🙂 Looking forward to the next installment. Love, your friends, Charlie and Hannah

  5. Ogee says:

    What a wonderful way to get a head start on summer!

  6. What a great place!! Love the baby birds, too cute!

  7. So very glad to meet you, Miss Harper Lee (TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD is one of my favorites) and see your wonderful pictures! I’m going to follow your story so our dog Maggie (Collie/shepherd mix with a touch of coyote–just the sweetest dog ever) can look at your pictures when she hounds me at the computer!

  8. writetowag says:

    Oh!!!!! That place seems like a little bit of Heaven…LOVE every picture…that peacock…the house…the cottages..We just relaxed reading along!!!! What an amazing weekend indeed!!!! –Hugs

  9. Marcie says:

    Looks like a lovely time! (They really used the floating duck house, ha!) Glad you had such a great weekend!

    • Each evening at about dusk, the little ducks gathered, and by the time we woke up in the morning (which was pretty early), they had already left to start their day. Sweet!

  10. houndstooth says:

    That looks like an adventure I would adore! I’m so envious!

  11. What a lovely get-a-way! Mama especially likes the peacock picture. Woooowoooooos to yooowoooowoooo Miss Harper Lee!

  12. What an amazingly perfect place for you to visit, Miss HL. I am impressed by the giant nest, and also happy that it’s a nest and not a beehive, which was my first thought. Great vacation!

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    • Butler Greenwood truly is perfection. That nest does look like a beehive at first. Thank goodness is wasn’t. It really isn’t very big–maybe half the size of a bicycle basket or less. Those little birds were just really crammed in there. My guess is that by this coming weekend they’ll be out and about.

  13. jank1961 says:

    What a wonderful place for a getaway! Reading, relaxing on the porch, watching the wildlife, and taking walks sounds like the perfect time to me! (oh, and the wine and food too) You are one lucky dog, Miss Harper Lee!

    • It is so relaxing, and you kind of get into the pace of the nature that surrounds you . . . you know when the birds start to feed in the morning, when the chipmunks play in the late afternoon, when the peacock struts his stuff in the early evening . . . and when the cork pops out of the wine bottle. 😉 Bliss.

  14. Wow Miss H.L., looks like an awesome get away. You and your humans are lucky to be able to travel and enjoy such wonderful experiences together! Family is the best 🙂

  15. That B & B is aroootiful AND you got to go with!!!
    Wally & Sammy

  16. Misaki says:

    What a lovely place to stay 🙂

  17. 2browndawgs says:

    What a beautiful place. Lucky you to spend some time there.

  18. Miss Harper Lee, you are One Lucky Dog!! Have fun with your friends and your family in paradise!!

  19. Lynn Delage says:

    It looks so heavenly and peaceful there. I would love to spend a few days there. I live in Beaumont, TX which is not so far away. Maybe some day I can go.

    • It is heavenly and peaceful, and Beaumont’s not too far away. You’d also love visiting the little town of St. Francisville. I hope you’ll plan a trip very soon!

  20. I’m seriously jealous!! It sounds like heaven and no wonder you were exhausted, that is sure a lot to take in!

  21. Gizmo says:

    Wow what a pawsome spot…Momz sez she would love a weekend there and I would have the best time, just like you…Off to read Part 2 now


Leave a comment