It’s Gonna Be a Bright Sunshiny Day

Bright Sunshiny 5 thek9harperlee

Morning walks start to be a bit of a challenge this time of year. The sun can feel like it’s three feet from your face. The air is thick with humidity, and the temperature inches closer to 90 with each passing minute. We won’t even talk about the heat index. So my human mommy and I try to escape into the beauty that surrounds us: birds singing in the trees, flowers blossoming from baskets and gardens, and the cheery colors of the homes in our Irish Channel neighborhood. Join us on our walk this morning . . . and feel free to sing along (with a little help from Johnny Nash).

Bright Sunshiny 4 thek9harperlee

I can see clearly now the rain is gone. / I can see all obstacles in my way. / Gone are the dark clouds that had me blind.

It’s gonna be a bright (bright) bright (bright) sunshiny day.

Bright Sunshiny 2 thek9harperlee

Oh, yes I can make it now the pain is gone. / All of the bad feelings have disappeared. / Here is that rainbow I’ve been praying for.

It’s gonna be a bright (bright) bright (bright) sunshiny day.

Bright Sunshiny 1 thek9harperlee

Look all around, there’s nothing by blue skies. / Look straight ahead there’s nothing but blue skies.

Bright Sunshiny 3 thek9harperlee

 Wishing you plenty of blue skies on this bright sunshiny day!

Footnote thek9harperlee

Footnote:

I know it seems like ages since I teased you with my country breakfast recipes and hinted about the weekend getaway that my sister and I planned. (Click here if you need to refresh your memory.) We did indeed have our trip to the country. Shortly after that, however, my human mommy’s computer had a little meltdown (which was followed by a fairly big meltdown by my human mommy, but we won’t talk about that.) Then, at my otherwise uneventful annual check-up with the vet, we discovered that I had cracked a tooth . . . and that the tooth would have to be extracted. All went well with that little procedure, and I am enjoying the final days of my super yummy canned food. Wonder if I could crack another tooth? (No! Mommy says definitely no.) Finally, my little sister, Tallulah Bee, got “fixed” last week. She was fully recovered 12 hours after coming home, and now we are all looking forward to her getting back to Camp Bow Wow and the neighborhood dog park . . . and being exhausted when she comes home.

So . . . the computer situation has been rectified, my sister and I are fully recovered from our little veterinary procedures, and we are back on track and ready to share pictures and stories from our weekend getaway later this week. It sure feels good to be back in the saddle!

26 Comments on “It’s Gonna Be a Bright Sunshiny Day”

  1. Colleen Bacon says:

    We are glad you are back in the saddle Harper Lee and Mom! Loved this post of your beautiful neighborhood! Thanks for sharing!

  2. Emmadog says:

    Love the colorful doors! Sounds like lots has been happening at your place. My mom would melt down if her computer melted down. Never a good thing. See you around Blogville more we hope!

  3. Piglove says:

    Oh beautiful! Thank goodness all is okay. We always worry about you when we don’t hear from you. You know my sweetness I will track you down if you are gone from blogville too long 🙂 Much love – XOXO – Bacon

  4. A great song to start the day! Glad to hear all is well now in your pack. In the good news dept. there’s only 44 days left until the official start of autumn. Stay cool.😎

    • Unfortunately, the official start of autumn and the New Orleans start of autumn are two totally different things. 😉 But we’re some pretty cool girls, so I think we’ll make it.

  5. dogdaz says:

    Glad you are back and well. Fall will be here soon. Stay cool

  6. Rosy Rue says:

    What a fab post ! However, please next time dont suggest my Mom sing! Anyway, glad to hear you and your little sis are on the mend. xo

  7. Those are great photos. I’m glad that all of your troubles are over. Don’t be biting ice or rocks! BOL! BOL!

  8. Cupcake says:

    What a lovely, colorful walk and exciting, eventful update, Miss HL. I’m glad your mom’s computer is on the road to recovery!

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

    • Trust me, Cupcake, we’re all glad Mommy’s computer is back up and running. 😉 Happy you enjoyed the colorful walk . . . and you got to enjoy is from air-conditioned comfort. Lucky girl!

  9. So glad everything has turned out well in your lives 🙂 It is a bright and sunshine day then! Sending lots of luvs your way from all of us!
    Marty and the Gang

  10. Ogee says:

    What a fun post…and glad you’re on the mend. If things really do happen in three’s – then your troubles are over and it’s all sunshine from here. 🙂

  11. Great photos. Coincidentally, Kali just had ateo extractions a few months ago and Kloe is scheduled for her “fixin” next month. Glad everything is getting back on track for you.

    • Thank you! I hope Kali’s extractions were uneventful and that Kloe’s “fixin” will be equally so. Tallulah was quite pitiful the afternoon and evening immediately after her little procedure, but she was completely back to normal the next morning. We’re still waiting for that calming effect. 😉

      • Thanks for the well wishes. Yes uneventful extractions for Kali. I hope Kloe is as resilient as your Talulah. I’m not quite sure how we will keep her calm for the first few days so she doesn’t bust a stitch 🙂


Leave a Reply

