Are You Ready for Some Football?

Football 1 thek9harperlee

You probably already know that I am a huge fan of Louisiana State University, not only Tiger athletics but also the academics and the school’s history and traditions. I have taken you on a tour of the lovely LSU campus and I have told you all about the treatment that I receive for my elbow and hip dysplasia at the LSU School of Veterinary Medicine. And I dedicated my second blog post ever (almost one year ago now) to LSU Tiger football.

Les Miles thek9harperlee

Well, friends, it’s been a very long time since last New Year’s Eve when I watched in horror as my Fighting Tigers fell in defeat to the wanna-be-Tigers of Clemson at the Chick-fil-A Bowl. Not the happiest way to end a season. But all that misery ends tonight and hope once again springs eternal when the LSU Tigers take on the TCU Horned Frogs in the House that Jerry Built. My humans have been preparing for the game for two days–and by “preparing” I mean indulging in adult beverages, eating special gameday food, raising the new LSU flag, and selecting the perfect (and hopefully luckiest) clothes to wear.

Football 2 thek9harperlee

All of this game prep has been nothing short of exhausting, and the game doesn’t even start until 8 o’clock tonight. So I think I’ll just put my head down on this pillow and take a little nap. Because in a few hours when the clock strikes eight and the LSU Fighting Tigers rush the field behind Head Coach Les Miles and the Golden Band from Tigerland strikes the most famous four notes in all of college football, a new season begins. The slight disappointments of last year will fade away, and all things will be possible. I am more than ready for some football. Geaux Tigers!

24 Comments on “Are You Ready for Some Football?”

    • Due to all of the excitement leading up to the big event, I was completely exhausted by kickoff and slept through the whole game. But I gather from my humans’ happiness today that the Tigers won. 😉

  1. Dina says:

    I don’t really get the gist of American football as I am in England so I am more into ‘soccer’. 🙂 Good luck to the LSU Tigers though!

  2. Have fun, Miss HL. Mom and I don’t understand sports at all, but once I found a baseball in the field and Mom let me bring it home. Balls are fun. That’s what we know about sports.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  3. Oh Miss Harper Lee, your Tiger handerchief is stunning – we all knew you would be in the perfect outfit for Game One! And a nice win for your mommy and daddy, too – Life Is Good for Les’s nation.!!

    • And life is also good for the Gamecocks. Congratulations on your opening night victory. I must say that when that lightening delay occurred, I suspected that Slow had some hand in it so that she could watch Rafa at the U.S. Open.

  4. CONGRATS!!!! Looks like all the prep sure paid off!!! Your lucky bandana and your Peeps lucky clothes (and the ‘adult beverages), put ya on top!!
    Lucky doggie!!
    Kisses,
    Ruby ♥

  5. Love the tiger bandana! 🙂

  6. Have fun Miss Harper Lee. Good thing you know how to conserve your energy.

  7. 2browndawgs says:

    LOL we are Michigan fans here. Go Blue!

  8. cascadiannomads says:

    Our dogs usually get worn out before the games even start too, Miss Harper Lee! And then, while they’re trying to nap, loud, sleep disrupting cheering and jeering from us awful humans.

  9. OhMelvin says:

    I’m more of an NFL football fan (my college didn’t have football so it gets lost on me) but you sound like a pretty fierce fan!!!

    • I am afraid that my humans’ near obsession with LSU Tiger football has worn off on me. We like our New Orleans Saints, too, so this coming weekend should be extra exciting at my house. Do they make earplugs for dogs?


Leave a Reply

